Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
 in   
 Classical Music Home > Naxos Album Reviews

Album Reviews



 
See latest reviews of other albums...

Roy Westbrook
MusicWeb International, October 2015

this is all-round a very successful disc, and the playing is so persuasive… © 2015 MusicWeb International Read complete review



Richard A. Kaplan
Fanfare, July 2015

The Viennese pianist Gottlieb Wallisch and New York’s Ensō Quartet…do nicely with these two pieces. The piano and strings are fairly well integrated… © 2015 Fanfare Read complete review




Nicholas Derny
Diapason, April 2015

Flawless construction, breath-taking, coherent and focused expression, the New York-based Ensō Quartet has what it takes to make their mark in these splendid pages. © 2015 Diapason



Donald R. Vroon
American Record Guide, March 2015

The First Quintet…is high romanticism, and a full-blown Adagio seems right. Still, the over all sound of the strings is vital, and the new Naxos [recording] is very fine in that department.

I suppose it is fair to say that Naxos has again given us a competitive recording… © 2015 American Record Guide Read complete review on American Record Guide



Erik Levi
BBC Music Magazine, March 2015

Performance (No.1):
Performance (No.2):
Recording:

Gottlieb Wallisch and the Enso Quartet deliver a highly charged account [of Quintet No 1]. They relish the youthful impetuosity of its opening Allegro, the playful and ebullient character of the Scherzo and the Schumannesque Finale as well as the warm-hearted lyricism of the Adagio.

Their performance of the much darker and more harmonically advanced Quintet No 2 of 1914 is also effective, especially in the whimsical Intermezzo and the sombre Finale. © 2015 BBC Music Magazine



Raymond Tuttle
Fanfare, March 2015

The playing here strikes me as being warmer and more committed, and also more lyrical, and whether that has to do with the repertory, the pianist, or the current phase of the moon, I cannot say. Wallisch, who has a Central European background, probably has a genetic predisposition toward music of this sort, and here, the New York City-based Ensō String Quartet is of a like mind, playing these two gorgeous works as if they were the richest Hungarian gulyás, with a Dobos torta for dessert. © 2015 Fanfare Read complete review



Rob Cowan
Gramophone, February 2015

This [recording which] features performances that are astutely musical and very well executed, is about as good as it gets, in spite of some strong competition… © 2015 Gramophone Read complete review on Gramophone



Ralph Graves
WTJU, January 2015

The Ensō String Quartet and pianist Gottlieb Wallisch perform well together, creating a seamless ensemble. The energy they bring to this music brings out its full potential…and makes this release an enjoyable listening experience. © 2015 WTJU Read complete review



David Denton
David's Review Corner, November 2014

I am delighted that in recent times Erno Dohnányi’s music is returning to the concert hall and increasingly found on disc, for he has been shamefully neglected. Yet he was his own worst enemy, the opportunities to promote new music by virtue of his career as a conductor and pianist having been almost entirely given to others, Bartók and Kodály being two who owe him an eternal debt of gratitude. Born in 1877 of Hungarian nationality, he enjoyed a globe-trotting lifestyle when the Second World dictated that he should seek refuge by taking up the post of composer-in-residence at the Florida State University, As a very progressive teacher, it seems to be ‘don’t do as I do, but do as I say,’ for he continued composing in a style representing the last flowering of the Romantic era. For the First Piano Quintet we turn the clock back to the eighteen-year-old composer with his first published score, Dohnányi playing the piano at its Budapest premiere. Though his mentors had been Germanic by influence, here we come close to the world of Fauré, an equal participation shared between the five players, the piano being used as the engine driving things forward. It was to be nineteen years before he composed the Second Quintet, this time changing from a four to three movement layout. At times there is a sensual and joyful feel to the music, though it ends in a sombre mood, maybe reflecting the onset of the First World War. The big and bold playing of the German-born pianist, Gottlieb Wallisch, and the fulsome American-based Ensō String Quartet, combine in excellent performances, the First scented with their exquisite musical perfume. I wish I could love the Glenn Gould recording studio in Toronto, but I don’t. © 2014 © 2014 David’s Review Corner





Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group