The Brothers Bohrer

‘We were truly amazed by the inventions of the Bohrer brothers – they must have been outstanding instrumentalists! These recordings were realised during the time of the pandemic and the work on these forgotten treasures meant a lot to us: it gave us joy and some inspired bright moments making music as friends in a rather grey, overall atmosphere on our planet at the time.’

Friedemann Eichhorn

‘The immensely productive time after the Rococo period and the years before the March Revolution of 1848, in which Paganini also appeared and enchanted the world, is reflected in the works of the Bohrer brothers: the same urgent power of the Romantic and the joy in fiery virtuosity as a heightened means of expression.’

Alexander Hülshoff

Antoine BOHRER (1783–1852)
Max BOHRER (1785–1867)
Grande symphonie militaire 1
Violin Concerto 2 • Cello Concerto 3

Friedemann Eichhorn, Violin 1,2 • Alexander Hülshoff, Cello 1,3
Jena Philharmonic Orchestra • Nicolás Pasquet

The Bohrer family produced a succession of distinguished musicians of whom the brothers Antoine, a violinist who studied with Rodolphe Kreutzer in Paris, and cellist Max were the most eminent. Their string quartet promoted Beethoven’s works and was much admired by Berlioz, who praised Antoine. They co-composed several works including the imposing Grande symphonie militaire included here, boldly virtuosic and laced with memorable themes. Antoine Bohrer’s Violin Concerto in E minor shares elements familiar from Paganini and is enhanced by Antoine’s sense of lyricism. Max’s Cello Concerto No. 1, though economically scored, shows how quickly the cello had progressed as a solo instrument in the early 19th century.

Listen to an extract from Cello Concerto No. 1:
III. Rondo: Allegro moderato
About the Artists

German-born violinist Friedemann Eichhorn is one of the most creative and versatile musicians of his generation. His artistic activities range from performing early Baroque music on period instruments to classical and contemporary works with renowned orchestras and chamber music partners. Recent highlights include performances with the Konzerthaus-orchester Berlin under the baton of Christoph Eschenbach, and the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia with Sir Antonio Pappano.

Cellist Alexander Hülshoff has established himself as a soloist and chamber musician, appearing on concert stages all over the world. His expressiveness and powerful, warm and nuanced sound – hallmarks of his playing – have been appreciated by audiences and musical partners alike. As a soloist he has been a guest of many German and international orchestras, and his concert tours have taken him across Europe, the Near East and East Asia, as well as Russia and North and South America.

Winner of several national and international conducting competitions, Nicolás Pasquet was chief conductor of the Pécs Symphony Orchestra from 1993 to 1996, and was awarded the Béla Bartók/Ditta Pásztory and László Lajtha Foundation Prizes for his interpretations of Hungarian music. He has also served as chief conductor of the Neubrandenburger Philharmonie and the orchestra of the Coburg State Theatre. He is currently chief conductor of the Youth Symphony Orchestra of the state of Hesse, Germany.

The Jena Philharmonic Orchestra has collaborated with world renowned soloists and guest conductors, notably on the Mahler/Scartazzini cycle of complete symphonies. With a reputation for being a young, dynamic orchestra, it is one of the founders of the European orchestral network ONE®. In both 1999 and 2002, the orchestra received the award of Best Concert Programme of the Season from the German Music Publishers Association.

More recordings featuring Friedemann Eichhorn and Alexander Hülshoff
‘Eichhorn and Hülshoff are quite remarkable players. They seem to enjoy what they are doing, and they do it well. The music is showy rather than serious, but they put it across with such vim and vigour that one follows it with interest.’
American Record Guide
Complete Duets with Cello

Rummel • Hülshoff • Eichhorn • Körber
‘The performances by Rummel and Hülshoff are vigorous and intense.’
‘Hülshoff and Eichhorn brilliantly capture this notion with their impeccable sense of balance, pristine and polished intonation (even in extensive passages played entirely in unison), and crisp articulation. Their performance together is one that listeners will undoubtedly enjoy for both technical and musical merits.’
‘The four performers are all talented…The notes are outstanding, as are the recordings.’
American Record Guide

View all Features »