Naxos Books and Ebooks
Dvořák: His Life and Music (Ebook)

Dvořák: His Life and Music (Ebook)

  • 13-digit ISBN: 978-184-379-260-4
  • Barcode: 9781843792604
  • Approximate length: 50,000 words
  • Formats: iPad/iPhone (enhanced), Kindle, Nook, Kobo

Dvořák is one of the giants of nineteenth-century music. His ‘New World’ Symphony is among the best-loved works in the classical repertoire. This book traces the course of an extraordinary creative career that embraced the peasant music-making of rural Bohemia, the grand receptions of Victorian England and the dynamism of fin-de-siècle New York to shape a composer whose inexhaustibly rich and varied output remains a staple of concerts and recordings across the globe.

About the Author

Neil Wenborn graduated from Magdalene College, Cambridge, and worked at the Bodleian Library in Oxford before pursuing a career in publishing, becoming Editorial Director of one of the UK’s leading independent publishers. Since 1989 he has been a freelance writer and publishing consultant and his work has appeared widely both in Britain and in the United States. His previous publications include biographies of Mozart (in Pavilion’s ‘Compact Companions’ series, of which he was also series editor), Haydn and Stravinsky. He is co-editor of the highly respected History Today Companion to British History (Collins & Brown) and A Dictionary of Jewish–Christian Relations (Cambridge University Press). Neil Wenborn is also the author of Mendelssohn: His Life and Music published by Naxos Books.