Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > SULLIVAN: H.M.S. Pinafore (D'Oyly Carte) (1948)

SULLIVAN: H.M.S. Pinafore (D'Oyly Carte) (1948)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

SULLIVAN: H.M.S. Pinafore (D'Oyly Carte) (1948)

Sullivan, Arthur
Gilbert, W.S., lyricist(s)

  H.M.S. Pinafore
1.   Act I: Overture 00:04:18
2.   Act I: We sail the ocean blue (Chorus) 00:02:24
3.   Act I: Hail, Men - O' - Wars men - I'm called Little Buttercup (Buttercup) 00:01:48
4.   Act I: But tell me - The nightingale sighed for the moon's bright ray (Buttercup, Ralph, Crew) 00:02:34
5.   Act I: A maiden fair to see (Ralph) 00:01:52
6.   Act I: My gallant crew, good morning - I am the captain of the Pinafore (Captain, Crew) 00:02:14
7.   Act I: Sir, you are sad (Buttercup, Captain) 00:01:26
8.   Act I: Sorry her lot who loves too well (Josephine) 00:03:06
9.   Act I: Over the bright sea - Sir Joseph's barge is seen (Chorus) 00:01:19
10.   Act I: Gaily Tripping (Sir Joseph's female relatives) 00:01:29
11.   Act I: Now give three cheers - I am the monarch of the sea (Sir Joseph, Relatives) 00:01:33
12.   Act I: When I was a lad (Sir Joseph, Chorus) 00:02:56
13.   Act I: For I hold that on the seas (Sir Joseph, Hebe, Chorus) 00:00:36
14.   Act I: A British Tar (Ralph, Boatswain, Carpenter's mate, Chorus) 00:01:52
15.   Act I: Refrain, audacious tar (Josepine, Ralph) 00:03:01
16.   Act I: Finale (Company) 00:08:49
17.   Act II: Interlude (Captain) 00:01:17
18.   Act II: Fair moon, to thee I sing (Captain) 00:02:10
19.   Act II: Things are seldom what they seem (Buttercup, Captain) 00:02:26
20.   Act II: The hours creep on apace (Josephine) 00:01:37
21.   Act II: A simple sailor lowly born (Josephine) 00:02:56
22.   Act II: Never mind the why and wherefore (Sir Joseph, Captain, Josephine) 00:02:35
23.   Act II: Kind captain, I've important information (Dick Deadeye, Captain) 00:02:18
24.   Act II: Carefully on tiptoe stealing (Ensemble) 00:01:40
25.   Act II: Pretty daughter of mine - He is an Englishman (Captain, Crew, Ralph) 00:05:18
26.   Act II: Farewell my own (Ralph, Josephine, Sir Joseph, Boatswain, Dick Deadeye, Hebe, Buttercup, Boatswain's mate) 00:01:51
27.   Act II: My pain and my distress - A many years ago (Sir Joseph, Buttercup) 00:02:26
28.   Act II: Oh joy, oh rapture unforeseen - Finale (Josephine, Hebe, Ralph, Dick Deadeye, Company) 00:02:49

Total Playing Time: 01:10:40

Sullivan, Arthur

Gilbert, W.S.

Godfrey, Isidore

D'Oyly Carte Opera Orchestra; New Promenade Orchestra

D'Oyly Carte Opera Chorus

Fancourt, Darrell; Flynn, Radley; Gillingham, Joan; Green, Martyn; Halman, Ella; Harding, Muriel; Osborn, Leonard; Rands, Leslie; Walker, Richard

Label: Naxos Historical

Genre: Operetta

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.110175

Barcode: 0636943117521

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 08/2001

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group