Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BACH, J.S.: Mass in B Minor, BWV 232 (Schwarzkopf, Gedda, Karajan) (1952-1953)

BACH, J.S.: Mass in B Minor, BWV 232 (Schwarzkopf, Gedda, Karajan) (1952-1953)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

BACH, J.S.: Mass in B Minor, BWV 232 (Schwarzkopf, Gedda, Karajan) (1952-1953)

This legendary recording of Bach’s B minor Mass was made, most unusually, in two places and with two orchestras. The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra was booked, anonymously, to record the choruses with the Choral Society of the Friends of Music,Vienna, while the reduced forces of the Philharmonia, with the section principals for instrumental solo parts, accompanied the solos and duets in London. Critical comment on this recording when it first appeared in 1954 was virtually unanimous. The Record Guide (Collins, 1955) remarked “The principal qualities of Karajan’s reading are lightness, absolute clarity of sound and rhythmic buoyancy, all of them qualities that many performances miss … Karajan, and [the] engineers, allow us to hear all the vocal and instrumental parts. Choral and solo singing are delightful”.

Disc 1

Bach, Johann Sebastian
Mass Text, lyricist(s)

  Mass in B Minor, BWV 232
1.   Kyrie: Kyrie eleison (Chorus) 00:12:13
2.   Kyrie: Christe eleison (Soprano) 00:06:00
3.   Kyrie: Kyrie eleison (Chorus) 00:03:12
4.   Gloria: Gloria in excelsis Deo (Chorus) 00:05:57
5.   Gloria: Laudamus te (Alto) 00:05:41
6.   Gloria: Gratias agimus tibi (Chorus) 00:03:57
7.   Gloria: Domine Deus, Rex coelestis (Soprano, Tenor) 00:06:10
8.   Gloria: Qui tollis peccata mundi (Chorus) 00:04:05
9.   Gloria: Qui sedes ad dextram Patris (Alto) 00:05:32
10.   Gloria: Quoniam tu solus sanctus (Bass) 00:05:24
11.   Gloria: Cum Sancto Spiritu (Chorus) 00:03:47
12.   Credo: Credo in unum Deum (Chorus) 00:02:51
13.   Credo: Patrem omnipotentem (Chorus) 00:02:01
14.   Credo: Et in unum Dominum Jesum Christum (Soprano, Alto) 00:05:15
15.   Credo: Et incarnatus est (Chorus) 00:04:11

Disc 2

Bach, Johann Sebastian
Mass Text, lyricist(s)

  Mass in B Minor, BWV 232
1.   Credo: Crucifixus etiam pro nobis (Chorus) 00:02:52
2.   Credo: Et resurrexit tertia die (Chorus) 00:03:53
3.   Credo: Et in Spiritum Sanctum (Bass) 00:06:31
4.   Credo: Confiteor unum baptisma (Chorus a cappella) 00:05:35
5.   Credo: Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum (Chorus) 00:01:59
6.   Sanctus: Sanctus Dominus Deus Sabaoth (Chorus) 00:06:26
7.   Osanna: Osanna in excelsis (Chorus) 00:02:41
8.   Benedictus: Benedictus qui venit (Tenor) 00:05:49
9.   Benedictus: Osanna in excelsis (Chorus) 00:02:41
10.   Agnus Dei: Agnus Dei (Alto) 00:07:02
11.   Agnus Dei: Dona nobis pacem (Chorus) 00:04:07
12.   Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Gloria: Laudamus te 00:04:49
13.   Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Credo: Et in unum Dominum Jesum Christum 00:04:48
14.   Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Credo: Et in Spiritum Sanctum 00:06:21
15.   Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Benedictus: Benedictus qui venit 00:06:05
16.   Mass in B Minor, BWV 232: Agnus Dei: Agnus Dei 00:05:48

Total Playing Time: 02:33:43

Bach, Johann Sebastian

Mass Text

Boult, Adrian; Bret, Gustave; Coates, Albert; Karajan, Herbert von; Levin, Sylvan

London Philharmonic Orchestra; London Symphony Orchestra; Philharmonia Orchestra; Studio orchestra; Victor Orchestra; Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Wiener Singverein

Balfour, Margaret; Ferrier, Kathleen; Fuchs, Joseph; Gedda, Nicolai; Höffgen, Marga; Maynor, Dorothy; Merckel, Henri; Rehfuss, Heinz; Schorr, Friedrich; Schumann, Elisabeth; Schwarzkopf, Elisabeth; Thill, Georges

Label: Naxos Historical

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: 8.111053-54

Barcode: 747313305322

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 09/2006

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group