Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > STRAUSS II, J.: Nacht in Venedig (Eine) (Schwarzkopf, Gedda) (1954)

STRAUSS II, J.: Nacht in Venedig (Eine) (Schwarzkopf, Gedda) (1954)


About this Recording

STRAUSS II, J.: Nacht in Venedig (Eine) (Schwarzkopf, Gedda) (1954)

Johann Strauss II’s Eine Nacht in Venedig, heard on this recording in a version prepared by Ernst Marischka and Erich Korngold for a 1923 Berlin revival, is modelled, like so many of his stage works, on Offenbach’s French operettas. When this recording appeared in 1955, The Gramophone critic wrote: “A Night in Venice (1883), with the canals running with schmaltz and many a German joke about macaroni and La donna being mobile, may put off the ultra austere, but I think you would have to be pretty stiff not to surrender… This set speaks for itself. Outside the world of the gramophone you would never expect to encounter an operetta with a cast like this one”. Otto Ackermann was an outstanding operetta conductor, capturing to perfection the elusive Viennese lilt and phrasing.

Strauss II, Johann
Zell, F. / Genée, Richard, lyricist(s)

  Eine Nacht in Venedig (A Night in Venice)
1.   Overture 00:06:32
2.   Act I: Wenn vom Lido sacht (Chorus) 00:01:05
3.   Act I: Ihr Venezianer hort … Drum sei glucklich, sei selig, Venezia! (Pappacoda, Chorus) 00:01:11
4.   Act I: Dialogue: Makkaroni, Makkaroni di Napoli! (Pappacoda, Enrico, Ciboletta) 00:00:50
5.   Act I: 'S ist wahr, ich bin nicht allzu klug … Wenn du dich krankst (Ciboletta, Pappacoda) 00:01:44
6.   Act I: Oho! … Seht, o seht! … Frutti di mare! (Annina, Chorus) 00:02:10
7.   Act I: Dialogue: O, Annina, ich errate was Euch herfuhrt (Pappacoda, Annina, Barbara, Barbaruccio, Delacqua) 00:01:51
8.   Act I: Evviva, Caramello! … Willkomen, liebe Freunde! (Chorus, Caramello) 00:02:07
9.   Act I: Dialogue: Ja, Pappacoda, alter Makkaronikessel (Caramello, Pappacoda, Barbara, Annina) 00:01:01
10.   Act I: Annina! Caramello! … Pellegrina rondinella! (Caramello, Annina) 00:02:45
11.   Act I: Dialogue: Hi, hi, hi … Ja, Pappacoda, was hat sie denn (Ciboletta, Caramello, Pappacoda) 00:00:20
12.   Act I: Alle maskiert, alle maskiert (Annina, Ciboletta, Caramello, Pappacoda, Herold) 00:02:12
13.   Act I: Sei mir gegrusst, du holdes Venezia! (Duke) 00:02:22
14.   Act I: Dialogue: Nun, Caramello, hast du Barbara gesprochen (Duke, Caramello, Delacqua, Barbara) 00:01:42
15.   Act I: Hier ward es still … Der Mond hat schwere Klag' erhob'n (Duke, Barbara, Annina, Pappacoda, Ciboletta) 00:02:59
16.   Act I: Hast du mir ein Kostum gebracht (Pappacoda, Ciboletta, Duke) 00:00:56
17.   Act I: Komm' in die Gondel, mein Liebchen (Duke, Delacqua, Annina) 00:02:27
18.   Act I: Messer Delacqua! (Pappacoda, Ciboletta, Delacqua, Duke) 00:00:58
19.   Act I: Zur Serenade! (Chorus, Delacqua, Duke) 00:05:23
20.   Act I: Kaum, dass mein Liebchen die schaukelnde Gondel entfuhrt (Duke, Chorus) 00:01:29
21.   Act II: Wo bleibt nur Caramello … Venedigs Frauen herzufuhren (Duke, Chorus, Agricola) 00:02:54
22.   Act II: Dialogue: Was fuhrt die Damen hierher (Duke, Agricola) 00:00:28
23.   Act II: Was mir der Zufall gab (Annina) 00:01:35
24.   Act II: Dialogue: Ach, Gott sei Dank (Caramello, Annina) 00:00:49
25.   Act II: Hor' mich, Annina, komm in die Gondel! (Caramello, Annina) 00:01:47
26.   Act II: Dialogue: Caramello, ich bin mit dir zufrieden (Duke, Caramello, Annina) 00:00:27
27.   Act II: Sie sagten meinem Liebesfleh'n (Duke, Annina, Pappacoda, Caramello) 00:01:56
28.   Act II: Solch' ein Wirtshaus lob' ich mir … Marietta, come va (Chorus, Pappacoda, Caramello) 00:03:21
29.   Act II: Dialogue: Komm, Barbara (Duke, Annina, Caramello, Delacqua) 00:00:41
30.   Act II: Ninana, Ninana, hier will ich singen (Duke, All) 00:02:55
31.   Act II: Dialogue: Alles geht gut (Delacqua, Ciboletta, Duke) 00:00:36
32.   Act II: Lasset die Andern tanzen da! Tra la la la! (Duke, Caramello, Annina, Ciboletta, Pappacoda, Chorus) 00:03:20
33.   Act II: Jetzt ist's Zeit zur Lustbarkeit … Horch! von San Marco der Glocken Gelaut (Chorus, Duke, Annina, Ciboletta) 00:03:42
34.   Act III: Karneval ruft Euch zum Ball! (Chorus) 00:00:59
35.   Act III: Die Tauben von San Marco (Annina, Ciboletta, Count, Caramello) 00:03:34
36.   Act III: Ach, wie so herrlich zu schau'n (Caramello) 00:03:09
37.   Act III: Dialogue: O, O, mein Weib ist mir geraubt worden! (Delacqua, Ciboletta, Pappacoda) 00:00:49
38.   Act III: Tacke, tacke, tacke … Aber wenn man erst gekostet hat (Pappacoda, Ciboletta) 00:01:56
39.   Act III: Dialogue: Ciboletta, weisst du nicht wo deine Herrin ist (Duke, Ciboletta, Delacqua, Barbara, Caramello) 00:01:08
40.   Act III: Wie sich's gebuhrt, hat er's gespurt (All) 00:00:34

Total Playing Time: 01:18:44

Strauss II, Johann

Genée, Richard; Zell, F.

Ackermann, Otto

Philharmonia Orchestra

Philharmonia Chorus

Diffring, Anton; Donch, Karl; Gedda, Nicolai; Klein, Peter; Kunz, Erich; Loose, Emmy; Ludwig, Hanna; Norbert, Hanna; Schwarzkopf, Elisabeth; Seidl, Lea; Stepanek, Karel

Label: Naxos Historical

Genre: Operetta

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111254

Barcode: 0747313325429

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 04/2007

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group