Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BELLINI, V.: Sonnambula (La) (Callas, Monti, La Scala, Votto) (1957)

BELLINI, V.: Sonnambula (La) (Callas, Monti, La Scala, Votto) (1957)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

BELLINI, V.: Sonnambula (La) (Callas, Monti, La Scala, Votto) (1957)

Visconti’s sensational 1955 production of La sonnambula for La Scala, Milan, was revived and recorded two years later. As a girl, Callas had fallen in love with the rôle of Amina; as an adult it suited her voice perfectly, and her interpretation set a benchmark that few have equalled. Among the many highlights of Callas’s profoundly satisfying performance is her cadenza for Ah non giunge in which she executes a remarkable diminuendo on a stratospheric E-flat, a feat unrivalled in the history of the gramophone.This is by any standards a classic recording.

Disc 1

Bellini, Vincenzo
Romani, Felice, lyricist(s)

  La sonnambula
1.   Act I Scene 1: Viva! Viva Amina! (Chorus) 00:02:49
2.   Act I Scene 1: Tutto e gioia, tutto e festa (Lisa, Chorus, Alessio) 00:02:47
3.   Act I Scene 1: In Elvezia, non v'ha rosa (Chorus, Lisa, Alessio) 00:03:29
4.   Act I Scene 1: Care compagne (Amina, Chorus) 00:02:10
5.   Act I Scene 1: Come per me sereno… Sempre, o felice Amina (Amina, all) 00:03:02
6.   Act I Scene 1: Sovra il sen la man mi posa (Amina, all) 00:02:38
7.   Act I Scene 1: Il più di tutti, o Amina (Alessio, Amina, Lisa, Teresa, Notary) 00:02:04
8.   Act I Scene 1: Perdona, o mia diletta (Elvino, Amina, All, Notary) 00:03:02
9.   Act I Scene 1: Prendi: L'anel ti dono (Elvino) 00:05:16
10.   Act I Scene 1: Scritti nel ciel gia sono… Ah! vorrei trovar parole (All, Elvira, Amina, Lisa) 00:03:16
11.   Act I Scene 1: Domani, appena aggiorni (Elvino, All, Amina) 00:00:23
12.   Act I Scene 1: Come noioso e lungo il cammin… Vi ravviso, o luoghi ameni… E gentil, leggiadra molto (Rodolfo, Lisa, All) 00:06:25
13.   Act I Scene 1: Contezza del paese (Elvino, Rodolfo, Teresa, Chorus) 00:03:17
14.   Act I Scene 1: A fosco cielo, a notte bruna (Chorus, Rodolfo, Teresa, Amina, Elvino) 00:03:57
15.   Act I Scene 1: Basta cosi. Ciascuno si attenga (Rodolfo, Teresa, All, Elvino) 00:01:44
16.   Act I Scene 1: Elvino! E me tu lasci (Amina, Elvino) 00:02:04
17.   Act I Scene 1: Son gelosa del zefiro errante (Elvino, Amina) 00:05:54
18.   Act I Scene 2: Davver, non mi dispiace (Rodolfo, Lisa) 00:04:11
19.   Act I Scene 2: Che veggio (Rodolfo, Amina, Lisa) 00:02:30
20.   Act I Scene 2: O ciel! Che tento (Rodolfo, Amina) 00:03:39
21.   Act I Scene 2: Osservate: L'uscio e aperto (Chorus) 00:03:56
22.   Act I Scene 2: E menzogna (Elvino, Chorus, Lisa, Amina) 00:02:05
23.   Act I Scene 2: D'un pensiero e d'un accento (Amina, Elvino, Chorus, Alessio, Teresa) 00:05:21
24.   Act I Scene 2: Non più nozze (Elvino, All, Amina, Lisa, Alessio, Chorus, Teresa) 00:01:44

Disc 2

Bellini, Vincenzo
Romani, Felice, lyricist(s)

  La sonnambula
1.   Act II Scene 1: Qui la selva e più folta ed ombrosa (Chorus) 00:05:55
2.   Act II Scene 1: Reggimi, o buona madre (Amina, Teresa) 00:04:41
3.   Act II Scene 1: Vedi, o madre… E afflitto e mesto (Amina, Elvino) 00:03:20
4.   Act II Scene 1: Viva il Conte! (Distant Voices, Elvino, Amina, Teresa, Chorus) 00:01:28
5.   Act II Scene 1: Ah! Perche non posso odiarti (Elvino, Teresa, Chorus) 00:01:55
6.   Act II Scene 2: E fia pur vero, Elvino (Lisa, Elvino, Rodolfo, Alessio, All) 00:01:56
7.   Act II Scene 2: Signor Conte, agli occhi miei (Elvino, Rodolfo, Chorus, Lisa, Teresa) 00:04:33
8.   Act II Scene 2: Signor… Che creder deggio (Elvino, Rodolfo, Teresa, Chorus) 00:02:47
9.   Act II Scene 2: Oh! Se una volta sola (Amina, Rodolfo, Teresa, All) 00:05:43
10.   Act II Scene 2: Ah! Non credea mirarti (Amina, Elvino) 00:04:34
11.   Act II Scene 2: No, più non reggo (Elvino, Amina, Rodolfo, Chorus) 00:02:16
12.   Act II Scene 2: Ah! Non giunge uman pensiero (Amina, All) 00:04:10

Cherubini, Luigi
Hoffman, François-Benoît, lyricist(s)

  Medea, Act I: Dei tuoi figli
13.   Medea, Act I: Dei tuoi figli 00:04:54

Spontini, Gaspare
Jouy, Victor Joseph Etienne de, lyricist(s)

  La Vestale, Act II (excerpts)
14.   Act II: Tu che invoco 00:10:52
15.   Act II: O nume tutelar 00:02:27
16.   La Vestale, Act III: Caro oggetto 00:03:45

Total Playing Time: 02:22:59

Bellini, Vincenzo; Cherubini, Luigi; Spontini, Gaspare

Hoffman, François-Benoît; Jouy, Victor Joseph Etienne de; Romani, Felice

Serafin, Tullio; Votto, Antonino

Milan La Scala Orchestra

Milan La Scala Chorus

Callas, Maria; Cossotto, Fiorenza; Monti, Nicola; Morresi, Giuseppe; Ratti, Eugenia; Ricciardi, Franco; Zaccaria, Nicola

Label: Naxos Historical

Series: Great Opera Recordings

Genre: Opera

Period: Classical; Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111284-85

Barcode: 0747313328420

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States, Singapore and Australia due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 01/2009

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group