Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PUCCINI: Madama Butterfly (los Angeles, di Stefano, Gobbi) (1954)

PUCCINI: Madama Butterfly (los Angeles, di Stefano, Gobbi) (1954)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

PUCCINI: Madama Butterfly (los Angeles, di Stefano, Gobbi) (1954)

One of the finest ever recordings of Madama Butterfly, this 1954 taping has rarely been out of the catalogue. Victoria de los Angeles, never in finer or fuller voice, sings with radiant beauty, Giuseppe Di Stefano is a thrilling yet moving Pinkerton while Tito Gobbi brings unexpected depth and feeling to the rôle of Sharpless.The recording is further distinguished by idiomatic and characterful performances from the Rome Opera Chorus and Orchestra conducted by Gianandrea Gavazzeni, who was also a noted composer, author and musicologist.

Disc 1

Puccini, Giacomo
Giacosa, Giuseppe / Illica, Luigi / Giacosa, Giuseppe / Illica, Luigi, lyricist(s)

  Madama Butterfly
1.   Act I: E soffitto … e pareti (Pinkerton, Goro, Suzuki, Sharpless) 00:05:57
2.   Act I: Dovunque al mondo (Pinkerton, Sharpless, Goro) 00:03:42
3.   Act I: Amore e grillo (Pinkerton, Sharpless, Chorus, Goro) 00:03:06
4.   Act I: Quanto cielo! Quanto mar! … Ancora un passo or via (Chorus, Butterfly) 00:03:12
5.   Act I: Gran ventura (Butterfly, Chorus, Pinkerton, Sharpless, Goro) 00:03:15
6.   Act I: L'Imperial Commissario (Goro, Pinkerton, Chorus, Butterfly, Cousin, Mother, Yakuside, Aunt, Sharpless) 00:02:14
7.   Act I: Vieni, amor mio! (Pinkerton, Butterfly, Goro) 00:04:05
8.   Act I: Tutti zitti! (Goro, Imperial Commissioner, Chorus, Sharpless, Registrar, Pinkerton) 00:03:27
9.   Act I: Cio - Cio San! Cio - Cio San! (The Bonze, Chorus, Butterfly, Goro, Pinkerton) 00:02:19
10.   Act I: Bimba, bimba, non piangere (Pinkerton, Chorus, Butterfly, Suzuki) 00:02:02
11.   Act I: Viene la sera … (Pinkerton, Butterfly, Suzuki) 00:03:04
12.   Act I: Bimba dagli occhi pieni ci malia (Pinkerton, Butterfly) 00:03:23
13.   Act I: Vogliatemi bene, un bene piccolino (Butterfly, Pinkerton) 00:06:39
14.   Act II: E Izaghi ed Izanami (Suzuki, Butterfly) 00:06:52
15.   Act II: Un bel di, vedremo (Butterfly) 00:04:13
16.   Act II: C'e. Entrate (Goro, Sharpless, Butterfly) 00:04:11
17.   Act II: Yamadori, ancor le pene dell'amor (Butterfly, Yamadori, Sharpless, Goro) 00:04:46
18.   Act II: Ora a noi (Sharpless, Butterfly) 00:02:50

Disc 2

Puccini, Giacomo
Giacosa, Giuseppe / Illica, Luigi / Giacosa, Giuseppe / Illica, Luigi, lyricist(s)

  Madama Butterfly
1.   Act II: Ebbene, che fareste (Sharpless, Butterfly) 00:02:12
2.   Act II: E questo E questo (Butterfly, Sharpless) 00:02:04
3.   Act II: Che tua madre dovra (Butterfly, Sharpless) 00:03:51
4.   Act II: Vespa! Rospo maledetto! (Suzuki, Butterfly, Goro) 00:01:41
5.   Act II: Una nave de guerra (Suzuki, Butterfly) 00:02:18
6.   Act II: Scuoti quella fronda di ciliegio, "Flower Duet" (Butterfly, Suzuki) 00:04:26
7.   Act II: Or vienmi ad adornar (Butterfly, Suzuki) 00:04:48
8.   Act II: Humming Chorus (Chorus) 00:03:07
9.   Act III: Oh eh! Oh eh! (Chorus) 00:08:06
10.   Act III: Gia il sole! (Suzuki, Butterfly, Sharpless, Pinkerton) 00:04:38
11.   Act III: Io so che alle sue pene (Sharpless, Pinkerton, Suzuki) 00:03:38
12.   Act III: Addio, fiorito assil (Pinkerton, Sharpless, Kate, Suzuki) 00:03:01
13.   Act III: Suzuki! Suzuki! (Butterfly, Suzuki, Sharpless, Kate) 00:06:19
14.   Act III: Come una mosca prigioniera (Suzuki, Butterfly) 00:02:59
15.   Act III: Tu! Tu! Tu! (Butterfly) 00:03:04
16.   Act III: Butterfly! Butterfly! Butterfly! (Pinkerton) 00:01:02

Total Playing Time: 02:06:31

Puccini, Giacomo

Giacosa, Giuseppe; Illica, Luigi

Gavazzeni, Gianandrea

Rome Opera House Orchestra

Rome Opera House Chorus

Angeles, Victoria de los; Canali, Anna Maria; Di Stefano, Giuseppe; Ercolani, Renato; Gobbi, Tito; Huder, Maria; La Porta, Arturo; Sbalchiero, Bruno

Label: Naxos Historical

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111291-92

Barcode: 0747313329120

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 05/2008

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For Germany only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group