Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > VERDI: Otello (Vinay, Nelli, Toscanini) (1947)

VERDI: Otello (Vinay, Nelli, Toscanini) (1947)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

VERDI: Otello (Vinay, Nelli, Toscanini) (1947)

Arturo Toscanini was the second cellist in the orchestra of La Scala, Milan, for the triumphant first performance of Verdi's Otello on 5th February 1887. Sixty years later he led a radio broadcast of Otello spread over two evenings that is considered by many to be the most successful of his opera recordings for NBC. Described by one of Toscanini's biographers, Joseph Horowitz, as ‘the one that comes closest to recapturing Toscanini's revolutionary impact in the pit’, this December 1947 recording is remarkable for Toscanini's dramatic grasp of Shakespeare's timeless tragedy, and his scrupulous observation of Verdi's most detailed dynamic markings.

Disc 1

Verdi, Giuseppe
Boito, Arrigo, lyricist(s)

1.   Opening announcement for 6 December 1947 broadcast 00:01:49
2.   Act I: Spoken Synopsis 00:02:35
3.   Act I: Una vela! (Chorus, Montano, Cassio, Iago, Roderigo) 00:04:16
4.   Act I: Esultate! (Otello, Chorus, Iago, Roderigo) 00:04:43
5.   Act I: Fuoco di gioia! (Chorus) 00:02:44
6.   Act I: Roderigo, beviam! (Iago, Cassio, Chorus, Roderigo) 00:01:15
7.   Act I: Inaffia l'ugola! (Iago, Cassio, Roderigo, Chorus) 00:03:52
8.   Act I: Capitano, v'attende (Montano, Cassio, Iago, Roderigo, Chorus) 00:01:22
9.   Act I: Ola! Che avvien (Otello, Iago, Cassio, Montano) 00:03:27
10.   Act I: Gia nelle notte (Otello, Desdemona) 00:01:41
11.   Act I: Quando narravi (Desdemona, Otello) 00:02:57
12.   Act I: Venga la morte! (Otello, Desdemona) 00:04:30
13.   Act II: Spoken Synopsis 00:03:10
14.   Act II: Non ti cruciar (Iago, Cassio) 00:02:19
15.   Act II: Credo in un Dio crudel, "Iago's Credo" (Iago) 00:04:27
16.   Act II: Eccola (Iago) 00:01:22
17.   Act II: Cio m'accora (Iago, Otello) 00:04:03
18.   Act II: Dove guardi splendono (Chorus, Iago, Desdemona, Otello) 00:04:49
19.   Act II: D'un uom che geme (Desdemona, Otello, Iago, Emilia) 00:04:40
20.   Act II: Desdemona rea! (Otello, Iago) 00:01:40
21.   Act II: Ora e per sempre addio (Otello, Iago) 00:03:32
22.   Act II: Era la notte (Iago, Otello) 00:03:56
23.   Act II: Si, pel ciel (Otello, Iago) 00:06:09

Disc 2

Verdi, Giuseppe
Boito, Arrigo, lyricist(s)

1.   Opening announcement for 13 December 1947 broadcast 00:01:26
2.   Act III: Spoken Synopsis 00:01:25
3.   Act III: Introduction 00:01:06
4.   Act III: La vedetta del porto (Herald, Otello, Iago) 00:01:11
5.   Act III: Dio ti giocondi, o sposo (Desdemona, Otello) 00:09:12
6.   Act III: Dio! Mi potevi scagliar (Otello, Iago) 00:03:44
7.   Act III: Vieni, l'aula e deserta (Iago, Cassio, Otello) 00:03:40
8.   Act III: Questa e una ragna (Iago, Cassio, Otello) 00:01:47
9.   Act III: Come la uccidero (Otello, Iago, Chorus) 00:01:18
10.   Act III: Viva il Leon di San Marco! (Lodovico, Otello, Desdemona, Emilia, Iago, Roderigo, Chorus) 00:05:03
11.   Act III: A terra!… si… nel livido fango (Desdemona, Emilia, Cassio, Roderigo, Lodovico, Chorus, Iago, Otello) 00:09:42
12.   Act IV: Spoken Synopsis 00:02:59
13.   Act IV: Era più calmo (Emilia, Desdemona) 00:03:24
14.   Act IV: Mia madre aveva una povera ancella, "Willow Song" (Desdemona, Emilia) 00:06:31
15.   Act IV: Ave Maria (Desdemona) 00:06:28
16.   Act IV: Chi e la (Desdemona, Otello) 00:03:11
17.   Act IV: Calma come la tomba (Otello, Emilia, Desdemona, Cassio, Iago, Lodovico, Montano) 00:03:09
18.   Act IV: Nium mi tema (Otello, Cassio, Lodovico, Montano) 00:09:48

Total Playing Time: 02:30:22

Verdi, Giuseppe

Boito, Arrigo

Toscanini, Arturo

NBC Symphony Orchestra

NBC Chorus

Assandri, Virginio; Chabay, Leslie; Grauer, Ben; Merriman, Nan; Moscona, Nicola; Nelli, Herva; Newman, Arthur; Valdengo, Giuseppe; Vinay, Ramon

Label: Naxos Historical

Series: Great Opera Recordings

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.111320-21

Barcode: 0747313332021

Distribution Note(s):

Not available in the United States due to possible copyright restrictions

Physical Release: 02/2008

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Itunes
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group