Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > GRIEG: Norwegian Melodies Nos. 1 - 63

GRIEG: Norwegian Melodies Nos. 1 - 63


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

GRIEG: Norwegian Melodies Nos. 1 - 63

Grieg, Edvard

  Norwegian Melodies, Nos. 1- 63, EG 108
1.   National Anthem (How We Love Our Fatherland) 00:01:49
2.   National Song (How Glorious is the Land of My Birth) 00:00:54
3.   Norway's Grandeur (There I Live on that High Mountain) 00:00:52
4.   Aagot's Mountain Song (Sunset O'r the Mountain Top) 00:00:56
5.   I See You from the Cliffs of Gluggjin (Folk Song) 00:00:53
6.   Folk Dance from Vinje 00:00:23
7.   Ingrid's Song (And the Fox Laid Under the Red Birch Tree) 00:01:02
8.   Margrete's Lullaby (Now I Feel Uplifted) 00:01:16
9.   Olav Trygvason (Over the North Sea, Broad Sails Blowing) 00:02:45
10.   The Wedding Procession in Hardanger (A Breath of Sparkling Summer Air) 00:01:41
11.   The Student's Song (A Journey for the Bold and Brave) 00:00:37
12.   Student's Song (The Happy Wanderers) 00:00:44
13.   Young Billy Goat (My Little Kid, My Little Lamb) 00:00:35
14.   Norwegian Sailor's Song (All That a Nordic Sailor Should Be) 00:00:40
15.   A National Song (Songs of Norway) 00:01:13
16.   Song to the Flag (While the North Sea Swells and Rushes) 00:00:57
17.   Onward! (Onward! Onward!) 00:01:16
18.   Coastal Song from Bergen (I Rowed into Troubled Waters) 00:00:48
19.   Dairy Maid's Sunday (Basking in the Sun) 00:01:39
20.   Resting in the Peaceful Forest (In the Fir Tree Grove at Noon - Time) 00:01:30
21.   Our Aastrid (And Have You Seen Our Aastrid) 00:01:00
22.   Halling from Osterdalen (Folk Dance) 00:00:29
23.   The Mountains of Norway (Norway's Fortress and Protection) 00:01:49
24.   Evening Voices (Be Still, Soft Whispers) 00:01:45
25.   In Rosenlund During Saga Times (Under the Spell of the Sagas in Rosenlund) 00:01:22
26.   Row, Row, Row Your Boat, to the Fish - Filled Reefs (Child's Song) 00:00:35
27.   There Was an Old Woman Who Had an Old Broom (Child's Song) 00:00:33
28.   Open Air Ballad (Behold Norway's Flowering Valley) 00:00:29
29.   Song of Norway (To Norway, Land of Giants) 00:00:59
30.   Young Lad from Yonder Tisedal'n 00:00:33
31.   A. Land of My Birth (Wherever in the World I Go) 00:00:49
32.   B. Land of My Birth (Wherever in the World I Go) 00:00:43
33.   The Hunter's Song (In the Heather Behind Us, a Trail of Smoke) 00:00:43
34.   Iceland (Folk Melody), (Farthest North) 00:00:41
35.   One Can Never Please Them (From: 'The Heirs') 00:01:14
36.   I Know a Wee Lass (Ballad) 00:00:36
37.   Halling from Aamot (Folk Dance) 00:00:40
38.   A Norwegian Love Song (Beside the Deep, Dark Sea) 00:00:43
39.   The Young Birch Tree (The Young Birch Standing by the Fjord) 00:01:57
40.   Synnove's Song (Thanks for Everything) 00:01:10
41.   The North Sea (How Beautiful the Sea) 00:01:55
42.   The Blind Man, Magnus (Oh! If I Could See Just Once) 00:01:15
43.   Mountain Settler (Mountain Settlers Watch the Seasons) 00:03:10
44.   Purity or the Wagtail Bird (Folk Melody), (Little Brook Winding through the Meadow) 00:01:01
45.   Sailor's Song (Hurrah for Jonas Anton Hjelm) 00:00:10
46.   Springdands from Nummedal (Folk Dance) 00:00:32
47.   Patriotic Song (I'll Defend My Country) 00:00:58
48.   Three Exalted Words (When the Harp is Silenced at the Great, Broad Table) 00:00:41
49.   Old Norway (There Lies the Country) 00:00:40
50.   While Shepherding My Goats Last Year 00:00:29
51.   Dalebu Jonson (Folk Song from Hitterdal), (Oh! Can You Hear, Beautiful Maiden) 00:00:52
52.   Halling from Telemark (Folk Dance) 00:00:27
53.   Are You Fond of Me 00:00:50
54.   In the Mountains (Hei Ho! Where one Feels Hale and Hearty) 00:01:14
55.   Sinclair's Song (Mr. Sinclair Set Out Across the Salty Sea) 00:00:53
56.   Ole Glomstulen's Bridal Procession (Folk Song) 00:01:17
57.   Sunset (Spreading it's Colors across the Heavens) 00:00:24
58.   The Bear Hunter (How Brief a Life the Fir Tree Spans) 00:01:05
59.   To the Fatherland (I Lift the Gold Cup Highest) 00:00:39
60.   Lullaby (Child's Song from Valdres), (Rock a Bye Baby) 00:01:25
61.   The Bachelor Proposing to the Maiden (Folk Song), (How I Should Love to Marry) 00:01:04
62.   The Last Saturday Evening (Folk Song) 00:00:36
63.   A Ballad to Holy King Olaf (Holy Olaf Standing by the Fjord) 00:00:32
64.   The Norwegian Parliament (Norway's Solemn Hour Has Come) 00:01:22

Total Playing Time: 01:04:51

Grieg, Edvard

Steen-Nøkleberg, Einar

Label: Naxos

Genre: Instrumental

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.553391

Barcode: 0730099439121

Boxset: 8.501401

Physical Release: 11/1995

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group