Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > Life and Works: TCHAIKOVSKY (Siepmann)

Life and Works: TCHAIKOVSKY (Siepmann)


Back Cover Image 
Spoken Text

Life and Works: TCHAIKOVSKY (Siepmann)

Life and Works

Author and Narrator: Jeremy Siepmann
Malcolm Sinclair as Tchaikovsky
Other parts taken by Karen Archer, Teresa Gallagher, Stephen Thorne and David Timson
4 CDs
108-page booklet
Naxos 8.558036-39
ISBN: 1-84379-000-9

Tchaikovsky is one of the most popular composers of all time. His melodies are known to many people who may never have heard his name. They crop up on mobile telephones, alarm clocks and answering machines as often as on records and concert programmes. Like his music, the man himself was widely loved, but his inner life was fraught with sufferings, confusions and a deep vein of self-doubt. The drama of his emotional life is vividly reflected in his music, letters and diaries, all of which play a major part in this intimate portrait-in-sound.

Who was the man behind some of the most intensely emotional music ever written? Who were the influential figures in his life? In this 4-CD set packed full of biographical detail and poignant musical extracts we are led through the course of Tchaikovsky's eventful life. Jeremy Siepmann narrates throughout and Malcolm Sinclair portrays with sincerity this much-loved composer.

Disc 1

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich

  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1.   Tchaikovsky in early childhood 00:08:10
2.   Music: Glinka: Overture to A Life for the Tsar 00:01:26
3.   Enforced separation from his mother 00:02:55
4.   Music: Tchaikovsky: Dumka, Op. 59 00:02:05
5.   Death of his mother 00:01:27
6.   Music: RĂªverie du Soir 00:00:45
7.   Early manhood: the spendthrift civil servant 00:04:46
8.   Music: Minuet from Mozartiana 00:04:09
9.   Dismissive opinions of other composers 00:02:13
10.   Music: The Storm 00:03:51
11.   Journey to a breakdown 00:02:49
12.   Music: First Symphony 00:04:18
13.   Abortive engagement 00:04:29
14.   The advent of Balakirev 00:06:05
15.   Music: Romeo and Juliet 00:02:01
16.   Travels and a wounded friendship 00:02:49
17.   Music: First Piano Concerto 00:06:00

Disc 2

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich

  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1.   Reforming the Ballet 00:02:22
2.   Music: the Rose Adagio from The Sleeping Beauty 00:05:29
3.   Bizet's Carmen has A Major effect on Tchaikovsky's music 00:01:23
4.   Music: Francesca da Rimini 00:02:50
5.   A compositional paradox 00:00:34
6.   Music: Rococo Variations 00:02:05
7.   The struggle of despair and hope; he decides to marry 00:08:34
8.   Music: The Tempest 00:01:16
9.   The advent of Nadezhda von Meck 00:06:32
10.   Music: The Sleeping Beauty Waltz 00:04:02
11.   The desastrous road to matrimony 00:07:34
12.   Music: Romeo and Juliet 00:04:16
13.   Marriage, trauma, and a fairy tale annuity 00:07:27
14.   Letter to Mme von Meck 00:04:02
15.   Music: Romeo and Juliet 00:04:01

Disc 3

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich

  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1.   Recovery and creativity 00:01:36
2.   Music: Fourth Symphony 00:03:22
3.   The creation of his favourite opera 00:03:12
4.   Music: Lensky's aria from Eugene Onegin 00:06:09
5.   The return to compositional health 00:00:42
6.   Music: Violin Concerto in D 00:05:43
7.   He experiences distressing relapses 00:02:41
8.   Music: Capriccio Italien 00:02:19
9.   Psychological disturbances and a long fallow period 00:09:26
10.   Music: Piano Trio in A Minor 00:01:59
11.   Sufferings for Mme von Meck; he decides to settle down 00:08:19
12.   Music: Manfred Symphony 00:01:28
13.   Conducting tours and domestic bliss 00:07:28
14.   Music: Fifth Symphony 00:05:33
15.   More conducting tours, and a working holiday in Italy 00:01:46
16.   Music: Souvenir de Florence 00:02:06

Disc 4

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich

  Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky : Life and Works
1.   The rift with Mme von Meck 00:08:20
2.   Music: Sixth Symphony (second movement) 00:02:41
3.   His obsession with 'Bob' Davydov; adventures in America 00:04:29
4.   Music: Fifth Symphony 00:02:40
5.   Further America adventures 00:09:07
6.   A trip to Niagara 00:05:14
7.   Music: Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy (The Nutcracker) 00:02:10
8.   A darker episode 00:01:11
9.   Music: Voyevode 00:02:34
10.   Portrait of a conductor 00:04:25
11.   A hero's return 00:03:50
12.   Music: Sixth Symphony 00:05:24
13.   The mystery surrounding his death 00:05:30
14.   Music: First Piano Concerto 00:05:10

Total Playing Time: 04:09:19

Siepmann, Jeremy

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich

Sinclair, Malcolm

Siepmann, Jeremy

Label: Naxos Educational

Genre: Music Biographies

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.558036-39

Barcode: 0636943803622

Physical Release: 03/2002

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group