Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > Life and Works: BACH, J.S. (Siepmann)

Life and Works: BACH, J.S. (Siepmann)


Back Cover Image 
Spoken text

Life and Works: BACH, J.S. (Siepmann)

Life and Works
J.S. Bach

Author and Narrator: Jeremy Siepmann
John Shrapnel as Bach
Other parts taken by Trevor Nichols, Ruth Sillers and David Timson
4 CDs
116-page booklet
Naxos 8.558051-54
ISBN: 1-84379-022-X

Although now beloved and revered by millions as the greatest composer who ever lived, Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) was best known in his lifetime as an organist, and was eclipsed in fame as a composer by two of his 20 children. For the last 27 years of his life he was a schoolteacher and choir director whose duties extended to meal supervision and dormitory inspection. Yet throughout his career he composed a vast body of music, which is amongst the most joyful, dancing and enrapturing ever written. This portrait-in-sound includes many examples of the music that made him immortal.

With compelling narration by Jeremy Siepmann, character portrayals by acclaimed actors, and the interpolation of over 25 substantial musical extracts reflecting the development of one of music's most enduringly awe-inspiring composers, we are transported back three centuries straight into the life of Johann Sebastian Bach. This innovative sense of immediacy is at the heart of this comprehensive audio-biography, depicting the life of a composer whose music is universally admired.

Disc 1

Bach, Johann Sebastian

  Life and Works
1.   Family background and early years 00:08:39
2.   Music: Capriccio on the Departure of His Beloved Brother 00:03:32
3.   Bach and the organ 00:02:02
4.   Music: Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565 00:10:04
5.   Bach in trouble 00:10:17
6.   Music: Trio Sonata in E flat, BWV 525 00:04:54
7.   Bach the husband and father 00:04:11
8.   Music: Vivaldi / Bach: Concerto in A Minor for Four Harpsichords 00:03:58
9.   Bach the young composer 00:02:12
10.   Music: Prelude and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 543 00:12:52
11.   Bach in Weimar (and in jail) 00:03:46
12.   Music: Prelude in E - Flat Minor (The Well - Tempered Clavier, Book I) 00:03:19
13.   Bach leaves Weimar 00:00:28
14.   Music: Violin Concerto in E Major (Finale) 00:02:39

Disc 2

Bach, Johann Sebastian

  Life and Works
1.   Bach at Cothen 00:02:56
2.   Music: Concerto for Two Violins (Largo ma non tanto) 00:06:47
3.   Bach and the Brandenburgs 00:02:35
4.   Music: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D (first movement) 00:09:20
5.   From grief to joy though faith 00:01:27
6.   Music: 'Et Resurrexit' (B Minor Mass) 00:04:38
7.   New beginnings: Bach remarries and his family grows 00:02:09
8.   Music: Aria in G 00:03:46
9.   Goldberg Variations and Anna Magdalena's Notebook 00:00:51
10.   Music: Stolzel: Bist du bei mir 00:02:25
11.   Domestic happiness and the move to Leipzig 00:04:16
12.   Music: Magnificat 00:03:15
13.   Bach's duties at Leipzig 00:04:48
14.   Music: Canata No. 80 (Duetto) 00:03:44
15.   Bach the teacher 00:07:00
16.   Music: Sinfonia (Three - Part Invention) in E flat 00:02:46
17.   The great keyboard works with an educational agenda 00:00:16
18.   Music: Italian Concerto (last movement) 00:03:28
19.   A letter to the King 00:02:26
20.   Music: Cantata No. 147 (opening chorus) 00:04:25

Disc 3

Bach, Johann Sebastian

  Life and Works
1.   Bach takes up the poet's pen 00:02:45
2.   Music: Partita No. 1 in B flat, BWV 825 (Courante) 00:03:01
3.   Bach's frustration at Leipzig 00:04:01
4.   Music: Singet dem Herrn, BWV 225 00:04:50
5.   Frustrations intensify 00:03:25
6.   Music: St John Passion (opening chorus) 00:08:30
7.   Bach's efforts to leave Leipzig 00:06:12
8.   Music: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 (first movement) 00:03:52
9.   The King of Poland's jubilee 00:02:07
10.   Music: Suite No. 3 in D, BWV 1068 00:06:18
11.   The Ernesti affair 00:09:05
12.   Music: Prelude in D Major, BWV 532 00:05:30
13.   Adolf Scheibe's scathing views on Bach 00:03:05
14.   Music: Concerto in C for Three Harpsichords (Finale) 00:04:26

Disc 4

Bach, Johann Sebastian

  Life and Works
1.   Bach and opera 00:02:29
2.   'Coffee' Cantata (excerpts) 00:07:40
3.   'Peasant' Cantata (excerpts) 00:15:42
4.   The twilight years 00:04:57
5.   Music: The Art of Fugue 00:03:00
6.   Bach's visit to Frederick the Great 00:10:33
7.   Music: The Musical Offering 00:06:07
8.   Decline and death 00:08:04
9.   Music: Mass in B Minor 00:02:21

Total Playing Time: 04:34:11

Siepmann, Jeremy

Bach, Johann Sebastian

Shrapnel, John

Siepmann, Jeremy

Label: Naxos Educational

Genre: Music Biographies

Period: Baroque

Catalogue No: 8.558051-54

Barcode: 0636943805121

Physical Release: 04/2002

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group