Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > Life and Works: MOZART (Siepmann)

Life and Works: MOZART (Siepmann)


Back Cover Image 
Spoken Text

Life and Works: MOZART (Siepmann)

Life and Works

Author and Narrator: Jeremy Siepmann
Nicholas Boulton as Mozart
Other roles taken by Edward de Souza, Teresa Gallagher, Elaine Claxton, Steve Hodson, and Jacob Moriarty
4 CDs
128-page booklet
Naxos 8.558061-64
ISBN: 1-84379-051-3

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, the most astonishing child prodigy in the history of music, is felt by many people to be the greatest composer who ever lived. Dominated and shaped by a highly intelligent but frustrated and ambitious father, his story sees the development of a unique genius, from precocious and often endearing childhood to liberated fulfilment, unexpected poverty, and a tragically early death. Generously illustrated by Mozart's music, from his fifth to his final year, this portrait-in-sound reveals a fascinating yet elusive character, drawing richly on the words of the composer himself and those who knew him.

This is the ideal way to understand more about Mozart the man, and his music. Throughout his life, he wrote numerous letters - to his father and his friends and pupils - and his musical colleagues wrote about him. On this entertaining recording, with parts read by various actors, Mozart himself comes to life - with his sublime music ever-present as his career unfolds.

Disc 1

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

  Life and Works of Mozart
1.   Leopold Mozart: Sinfonia di caccia, A Miracle in Salzburg 00:04:22
2.   Minuet in G, K.1 00:01:09
3.   A Miracle Exported 00:05:02
4.   Molto allegro in G, K.72a 00:01:31
5.   Prodigy and the Child: At Home and Abroad 00:09:10
6.   A Musical Joke, K.522 00:01:42
7.   A Prodigy at Home 00:03:18
8.   Cassation in G, K.63 00:01:58
9.   The Grand Tour 00:05:19
10.   Symphony No. 1 in E flat,K.16 00:06:09
11.   Salzburg's Ambassadors 00:01:52
12.   Piano Concerto No. 3 in D, K.40 00:02:31
13.   Italian Investments 00:05:13
14.   Allegri: Miserere 00:01:41
15.   A Dream Come True 00:06:53
16.   Ascanio in Alba, K.111 (Act I, Scene 1) 00:07:24

Disc 2

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

  Life and Works of Mozart
1.   Mozart as Eternal Child 00:01:50
2.   'Riconosci in questo amplesso' from 'The Marriage of Figaro', K.492 00:05:24
3.   Leopold and the Eternal Child 00:05:56
4.   Piano Concerto No. 5 in D, K.175 00:04:58
5.   Dashed Hopes of Escape 00:01:55
6.   Symphony No. 25 in G Minor, K.183 00:02:35
7.   The Composer Comes of Age 00:02:10
8.   Symphony No. 29 in A, K.201 00:01:49
9.   The Genius Emerges Fully Fledged 00:02:52
10.   Piano Concerto No. 9 in E flat, K.271 00:10:02
11.   Fired by the Archbishop, Mozart seeks his fortune elsewhere 00:09:04
12.   Violin Concerto No. 3 in G, K.216 00:03:35
13.   Sexual Awakening 00:04:56
14.   Piano Concerto No. 8 in B flat, K.238 00:03:31
15.   Mozart, Love, and Filial Obedience 00:12:43
16.   Piano Sonata No. 7 in C, K.309 00:03:48

Disc 3

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

  Life and Works of Mozart
1.   To Paris under Protest 00:06:31
2.   Concerto in C for Flute and Harp, K.299 00:09:38
3.   An Unexpected Triumph 00:03:16
4.   Symphony No. 31 in D, K.297 00:04:10
5.   Death, Deception, and Grief 00:03:54
6.   Piano Sonata No. 8 in A Minor, K.310 00:09:42
7.   Recrimination and Capitulation 00:09:07
8.   Mass in C, K.317 00:02:56
9.   Liberation in Vienna 00:07:30
10.   Clementi: Piano Sonata in B flat, Op. 24 No. 2 00:01:26
11.   Variations on 'Ah, vous dirai - je, Maman', K.265 00:02:53
12.   Love, Marriage... and Leopold 00:08:09
13.   Overture to 'The Abduction from the Seraglio', K.384 00:05:36

Disc 4

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

  Life and Works of Mozart
1.   A Miraculous Outpouring 00:01:43
2.   Serenade in B flat for Thirteen Wind Instruments, K.361 00:02:50
3.   On the Cadge 00:02:49
4.   Concert Rondo in D for piano and orchestra, K.382 00:02:17
5.   Reunion, Parenthood, Grief, Resilience 00:04:34
6.   Horn Concerto No. 1 in D, K.412 00:01:58
7.   Father, Father - figure, and Friendship 00:02:50
8.   String Quartet No. 19 in C, K.465 00:04:38
9.   Destiny versus Popularity 00:03:39
10.   Piano Concerto No. 20 in D Minor, K.466 00:03:25
11.   Prague, Figaro, and Celebrity 00:01:26
12.   'Se vuol ballare' from 'The Marriage of Figaro', K.492 00:02:36
13.   Don Giovanni, Death, and Desolation 00:06:36
14.   Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K.550 00:08:00
15.   Despair and Recovery 00:04:07
16.   Così fan tutte, K.588 (Act II, finale) 00:01:40
17.   Genius in Adversity 00:00:53
18.   Adagio in C for Glass Harmonica, K.356 00:01:02
19.   Decline, Death and Immortality 00:09:11
20.   Piano Concerto No. 25 in C, K.503 00:08:46

Total Playing Time: 04:52:10

Siepmann, Jeremy

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Boulton, Nicholas; Siepmann, Jeremy

Label: Naxos Educational

Genre: Music Biographies

Period: Classical

Catalogue No: 8.558061-64

Barcode: 0636943806128

Physical Release: 06/2002

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group