Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > ADOLPHE, B.: Piano Music - Chopin Dreams / 7 Thoughts Considered as Music / Piano Puzzlers (Grante)

ADOLPHE, B.: Piano Music - Chopin Dreams / 7 Thoughts Considered as Music / Piano Puzzlers (Grante)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

ADOLPHE, B.: Piano Music - Chopin Dreams / 7 Thoughts Considered as Music / Piano Puzzlers (Grante)

Composer, educator, performer and author Bruce Adolphe has a close affinity with the piano, and he acknowledges the transformative influence of Chopin on the way the instrument has been perceived up until the present day. Chopin Dreams places the Romantic master firmly into modern times, building on his models and imagining him as a jazz pianist or exploring what he might have played at a bar mitzvah. The Piano Puzzlers take Chopin’s style and mix it into what Dick Hyman has called ‘the wittiest and funniest musical parodies imaginable.’ Seven Thoughts Considered as Music are deeply personal and philosophical musical reactions to inspirational thoughts by the great minds of Emerson, Kafka, Rilke, Chief Seattle, Novalis, Heraclitus, and Shankara.

Adolphe, Bruce

  Chopin Dreams
1.   I. New York Nocturne 00:05:23
2.   II. Jazzurka 00:03:54
3.   III. Piano Popping 00:02:57
4.   IV. Brooklyn Ballad 00:06:23
5.   V. Quaalude 00:02:00
6.   VI. Hora 00:03:15
  7 Thoughts Considered as Music
7.   No. 1. The hidden harmony is better than the obvious one (Heraclitus) 00:03:27
8.   No. 2. Don't be confused by surfaces… (Rilke) 00:03:11
9.   No. 3. Beyond a certain point there is no return… (Kafka) 00:02:11
10.   No. 4. Everything in nature contains all the powers of nature (Emerson) 00:03:26
11.   No. 5. We are close to waking up when we dream that we are dreaming (Novalis) 00:04:16
12.   No. 6. When the last red man has vanished from this earth… (Seattle) 00:03:52
13.   No. 7. When the moon shines in its exceeding beauty… (Shankara) 00:02:43
  Piano Puzzlers
14.   Deck the Hall (Traditional Welsh Carol) 00:00:52
15.   London Bridge is Falling Down 00:01:40
16.   My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean 00:01:42
17.   When the Saints Go Marching In 00:01:24
18.   For He's a Jolly Good Fellow 00:02:12
19.   Havenu Shalom Aleichem (Traditional Hebrew Song) 00:01:51
20.   The Streets of Laredo 00:01:54
21.   Joshua Fought the Battle of Jericho (African American Spiritual) 00:02:29
22.   Our Love is Here to Stay (Gershwin Melody) 00:02:33

Total Playing Time: 01:03:35

Adolphe, Bruce

Grante, Carlo

Label: Naxos

Series: American Classics

Genre: Instrumental

Period: Contemporary

Catalogue No: 8.559805

Barcode: 636943980521

Physical Release: 11/2016

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group