Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MAYR, J.S.: David in spelunca Engaddi (David in the Cave of Engedi) [Oratorio] (Hauk)

MAYR, J.S.: David in spelunca Engaddi (David in the Cave of Engedi) [Oratorio] (Hauk)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

MAYR, J.S.: David in spelunca Engaddi (David in the Cave of Engedi) [Oratorio] (Hauk)

Born near Ingolstadt in Bavaria, Simon Mayr spent the greater part of his career in Bergamo, a flourishing cultural and economic centre in the early nineteenth century. An important figure in the promotion of Viennese classicism in Italy, he combined, in his own style, the legacy of Vienna with the dramatic and melodic genius of Italy, and held a dominant position in Italian opera before the emergence of Rossini. His oratorio David in spelunca Engaddi (David in the Cave of Engedi), with a Latin text, was written in 1795 for the Ospedale dei Mendicanti in Venice, one of the four great charitable institutions there, known for the musical achievements of its members. The oratorio deals with the conflict between David and Saul, and the refusal of David to harm the Lord’s anointed, in spite of the opportunity offered him.

Disc 1

Mayr, Johann Simon
Foppa, Giuseppe Maria, lyricist(s)

  David in spelunca Engaddi
1.   Part I: Sinfonia I 00:01:58
2.   Part I: Recitative: Ah non ultra mi Rex (Saul, Abner, Chorus) 00:00:41
3.   Part I: Voces festivae sonent (Abner, Jonathas, Michol, Saul, David, Chorus) 00:02:39
4.   Part I: Recitative: Quidnam Saul restat (Saul, Abner) 00:00:33
5.   Part I: Recitative: Regi imperare (Abner, Saul) 00:00:17
6.   Part I: Aria: Adversi fremunt venti (Abner) 00:03:04
7.   Part I: Recitative: Simuletur, ne vana (Saul, Michol, Jonathas) 00:00:39
8.   Part I: Aria: En Pastor humilis (David) 00:02:54
9.   Part I: Recitative: Regis veni ad amplexus (Saul, David) 00:00:29
10.   Part I: Recitative: Siste: corona (Saul, David) 00:01:06
11.   Part I: Aria: Vade superbe o fortis (Saul) 00:05:17
12.   Part I: Recitative: Quid loquutus est Rex (David, Jonathas, Michol) 00:00:38
13.   Part I: Recitative: Divisio amara (David, Michol) 00:00:43
14.   Part I: Duet: Sponse mi … (Michol, David) 00:03:43
15.   Part I: Recitative: Ah Jonathas (David, Jonathas) 00:00:18
16.   Part I: Recitative: Esto securus (Jonathas, David) 00:00:58
17.   Part I: Aria: Ah cor meum (Jonathas) 00:03:41
18.   Part I: Recitative: Quales lacerant (Saul, David, Michol) 00:01:53
19.   Part I: Recitative: Quod fulmen super me! (David, Michol, Saul) 00:01:30
20.   Part I: Aria: Tu spernis precantem (David) 00:03:08
21.   Part I: Recitative: Saul somniaris (Saul, Jonathas, Michol, Abner, David) 00:00:46
22.   Part I: Ah genitor amate … (Michol, Jonathas, Saul, Abner, David) 00:02:18
23.   Part I: Umbra funesta (Saul, Jonathas, Michol, David) 00:02:26
24.   Part I: Vos furiae lacerate (Saul, Jonathas, Michol, Abner, David) 00:01:59

Disc 2

Mayr, Johann Simon
Foppa, Giuseppe Maria, lyricist(s)

  David in spelunca Engaddi
1.   Part II: Sinfonia II 00:05:16
2.   Part II: Recitative: Abite, vos non audio (Saul, Michol, Abner) 00:00:35
3.   Part II: Recitative: Numen, coeleste numen (Michol) 00:00:50
4.   Part II: Aria: Sponsum dona pater chare (Michol) 00:04:11
5.   Part II: Recitative: Illudam filiam (Saul, Abner, Michol) 00:00:17
6.   Part II: Recitative: Filia dilecta (Saul, Michol, Abner) 00:02:19
7.   Part II: Aria: Patri amanti amplexus dona (Saul) 00:04:49
8.   Part II: Recitative: O felix ego! (Michol, Phalti) 00:00:32
9.   Part II: Aria: Gaudete o sponsi amantes (Phalti) 00:03:21
10.   Part II: Recitative: Respiro tandem (Michol, Jonathas, David) 00:02:44
11.   Part II: Ah sponsa … curre (Michol, Jonathas, David) 00:04:33
12.   Part II: Recitative: Eum solum linquis frater! (Michol, Jonathas) 00:00:26
13.   Part II: Aria: Ah quonam vado (David, Chorus) 00:02:10
14.   Part II: Recitative: Quod incertos verto gressus! (Saul, David) 00:04:05
15.   Part II: Aria: O rex amabilis (David) 00:02:03
16.   Part II: Aria: Ah quid restas (David, Chorus) 00:01:18
17.   Part II: Recitative: Sed quid tardo (David) 00:00:43
18.   Part II: Arioso: Quid audio! (Saul) 00:01:34
19.   Part II: Sed quidnam cerno (Saul, David) 00:00:51
20.   Part II: Duet: Ah quaeso serenum (David, Saul) 00:03:34
21.   Part II: Recitative: Pater! - David (Michol, Jonathas, Saul) 00:00:36
22.   Part II: Finale: O plena jubilo amica dies (Chorus) 00:03:56

Total Playing Time: 01:34:21

Mayr, Johann Simon

Foppa, Giuseppe Maria

Hauk, Franz

Simon Mayr Ensemble

Simon Mayr Choir

Duffe, Sibylla; Hauk, Franz; Horak, Cornelia; Ichihara, Ai; Ostermann, Merit; Schneider, Claudia

Label: Naxos

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Classical

Catalogue No: 8.570366-67

Barcode: 0747313036677

Physical Release: 04/2008

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group