Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BARTOK, B.: Miraculous Mandarin (The) / Concerto for Orchestra (Seattle Symphony, Schwarz)

BARTOK, B.: Miraculous Mandarin (The) / Concerto for Orchestra (Seattle Symphony, Schwarz)



Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
See Gerard Schwarz’s Naxos interview
An American Champion – Gerard Schwarz Interviewed by Jeremy Siepmann

BARTOK, B.: Miraculous Mandarin (The) / Concerto for Orchestra (Seattle Symphony, Schwarz)

With its bizarre story of moral corruption and violence, Béla Bartók’s final stage work, The Miraculous Mandarin, was banned after the first performance in 1926. Richly scored, it has a breathtakingly rapid pace, its nightmarish scenes depicted with vibrant and graphic musical intensity. The Concerto for Orchestra is one of Bartók’s last works and one of his best known and most accessible creations. Each of the five movements plays its own rôle, but the overriding message is a potently expressive affirmation of life.

Bartók, Béla
Lengyel, Menyhert, lyricist(s)

  A csodalatos mandarin (The Miraculous Mandarin), Op. 19, BB 82
1.   Play with flash player Opening – The girl and three tramps 00:03:10
2.   Play with flash player First seduction game: the shabby old rake 00:03:32
3.   Play with flash player Second seduction game: the young student 00:03:05
4.   Play with flash player Third seduction game 00:01:38
5.   Play with flash player The Mandarin enters and remains immobile in the doorway 00:02:21
6.   Play with flash player The girl begins a hesitant dance… 00:05:40
7.   Play with flash player The Mandarin stumbles – the chase becomes even more passionate 00:00:40
8.   Play with flash player The three tramps leap out, seize the Mandarin and tear him away from the girl 00:01:56
9.   Play with flash player Suddenly the Mandarin's head appears between the pillows and he looks longingly at the girl 00:03:19
10.   Play with flash player The terrified tramps discuss how they are to get rid of the Mandarin 00:01:39
11.   Play with flash player The body of the Mandarin begins to glow with a greenish blue light 00:01:39
12.   Play with flash player She resists no longer – they embrace 00:02:01

Bartók, Béla

  Concerto for Orchestra, BB 123
13.   Play with flash player I. Introduzione: Andante non troppo - Allegro vivace 00:09:45
14.   Play with flash player II. Giuoco delle coppie: Allegretto scherzando 00:06:10
15.   Play with flash player III. Elegia: Andante non troppo 00:07:47
16.   Play with flash player IV. Intermezzo interrotto: Allegretto 00:04:17
17.   Play with flash player V. Finale: Presto 00:09:17

Total Playing Time: 01:07:56

Bartók, Béla

Lengyel, Menyhert

Schwarz, Gerard

Seattle Symphony Orchestra

Seattle Symphony Chorale

Label: Naxos

Genre: Ballet; Orchestral

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.571201

Barcode: 747313120178

Distribution Note(s):

CD only available in the US.

Release Date: 03/2012

Buy from Online Stores


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group