Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: Girl Friends / Rule, Britannia / Salute to Spain (Polish Radio Symphony, Fitz-Gerald)

SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: Girl Friends / Rule, Britannia / Salute to Spain (Polish Radio Symphony, Fitz-Gerald)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
The Sound of Silents
– Mark Fitz-Gerald talks to Jeremy Siepmann

SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: Girl Friends / Rule, Britannia / Salute to Spain (Polish Radio Symphony, Fitz-Gerald)

This treasure trove of Shostakovich rarities presents four world première recordings. The music for the film The Girlfriends, newly reconstructed from various original sources including the 1934 soundtrack and a number of recently discovered Preludes, and the scores for the stage productions of Salute to Spain and Rule, Britannia!, come from one of the most fertile and brilliant periods of the composer’s creative life and are almost completely unknown. The unfinished symphonic movement from 1945, that had lain hidden for more than half a century, turns out to be Shostakovich’s first idea for his Ninth Symphony. Described by DSCH Journal as ‘one of the indispensable Shostakovich interpreters of our time’, Mark Fitz-Gerald adds to his highly acclaimed reconstruction of Shostakovich’s music for the ‘sound-silent’ film Odna (Alone), released on Naxos 8.570316.

Shostakovich, Dmitry
Arnshtam, Lev / Tikhonov, Nikolai / Vasilyeva, Raisa, lyricist(s)
Fitz-Gerald, Mark, arranger(s)

  Podrugi (Girl Friends), Op. 41a (reconstructed by M. Fitz-Gerald)
1.   Introduction (opening credits) 00:03:04
2.   The Year 1914: The workers' residential block and factory gates 00:02:08
3.   The families wait for the strikers to return 00:03:38
4.   The Inn of the Keys to Happiness 00:02:26
5.   The children attempt to sing their poppy song (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:02:56
6.   By the river: Revolutionary song Zamuchen tiazheloi nevolei (Tormented by a Lack of Freedom) (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:00:52
7.   Fanfare (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:00:27
8.   The story of Silych's son, Ivan 00:02:16
9.   Zamuchen tiazheloi nevolei (Tormented by a Lack of Freedom) (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:05:12
10.   The Year 1919, Russian Civil War - Fanfare and Organ Voluntary (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:37
11.   Internationale: The girls leave for war (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:02:03
12.   The girls attend to the wounded soldiers on the battlefield (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:47
13.   Alla Marcia: The town of Pushkin has been taken by the enemy (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:09
14.   Internationale: The girls and the wounded soldiers retreat by train 00:01:46
15.   Zoya in the snowy forest (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:47
16.   The Forester's Hut 00:02:51
17.   Fanfare: Andrei arrives with news from the front (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:00:29
18.   Fanfare (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:00:46
19.   The girls find a chicken 00:01:56
20.   Natasha and Zoya sing a nostalgic song, Gde eti tyoplie nochi (Where are those warm nights) (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:49
21.   Natasha and Zoya are rescued (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:42
22.   Fanfare: Andrei and Senka arrive (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:00:40
23.   Andrei's closing words 00:03:12

Shostakovich, Dmitry
Pyotrovsky, Adrian, lyricist(s)
Fitz-Gerald, Mark, arranger(s)

  Prav', Britaniya (Rule, Britannia), Op. 28
24.   Internationale 00:01:43
25.   Infantry March 00:01:50
26.   Along the Soviet Route 00:01:07
27.   Protest (reconstructed by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:02:28
28.   Raising the Banner 00:00:37
29.   The Banners Flap in the Wind 00:01:00

Shostakovich, Dmitry
Afinogenov, Aleksandr Nikolayevich / Parfenov, Pyotr Semyonovich / Fernandez, Valeriano Orobon, lyricist(s)

  Salyut, Ispaniya (Salute to Spain), Op. 44
30.   Fanfare I 00:00:15
31.   March of the Officers 00:01:37
32.   Fanfare II 00:00:10
33.   Anon.: A las barricadas! (To the Barricades!) (arranged by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:17
34.   Song of Rosita 00:02:35
35.   Fanfare III 00:00:13
36.   attrib. I. S. Aturov: Po dolinam i po vzgor'yam (Along the valleys and over the hills) (arranged by M. Fitz - Gerald) 00:01:08
37.   Reminiscence of the Song of Rosita 00:00:56
38.   Lucia's Funeral March 00:02:42

Shostakovich, Dmitry

  Symphonic Fragment (1st version of Symphony no. 9)
39.   Symphonic Fragment (1st version of Symphony no. 9) 00:06:42

Total Playing Time: 01:12:53

Shostakovich, Dmitry

Afinogenov, Aleksandr Nikolayevich; Arnshtam, Lev; Fernandez, Valeriano Orobon; Parfenov, Pyotr Semyonovich; Pyotrovsky, Adrian; Tikhonov, Nikolai; Vasilyeva, Raisa

Fitz-Gerald, Mark

Fitz-Gerald, Mark

Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra

Camerata Silesia

Barczewski, Kamil; Bochenek-Osiecka, Agnieszka; Myrczek, Adam; Myrczek, Sabina; Poniszowska, Aleksandra; Sheen, Celia; Starczynowska, Elzbieta

Label: Naxos

Genre: Film and TV Music; Orchestral

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.572138

Barcode: 747313213870

Physical Release: 05/2009

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group