Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO, M.: 24 Caprichos de Goya (Dukic)

CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO, M.: 24 Caprichos de Goya (Dukic)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO, M.: 24 Caprichos de Goya (Dukic)

With its grotesque cast of supernatural beings and subhuman characters, the satirical etchings of Francisco Goya’s Los Caprichos (1799) portray the sufferings of 18th century Spain in some of Western art’s most influential images. Originally conceived for Andrés Segovia, Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s 24 Caprichos de Goya has seldom been recorded complete, as it is here by Croatian guitarist Zoran Dukic, whose spectacular virtuosity, profound musicianship and artistic maturity have won him more first prizes in international competitions than anyone else in the world.

Disc 1

Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario

  24 Caprichos de Goya, Op. 195
1.   No. 1. Francisco Goya y Lucientes, Pintor (Francisco Goya y Lucientes, Painter) 00:03:50
2.   No. 2. Tal para qual (Two of a kind) 00:03:57
3.   No. 3. Nadie se conoce (Nobody knows oneself) 00:02:02
4.   No. 4. Ni asi la distingue (Even so he cannot make her out) 00:01:54
5.   No. 5. Muchachos al avio (The boys getting ready) 00:02:37
6.   No. 6. El amor y la muerte (Love and death) 00:03:57
7.   No. 7. Estan calientes (They are hot) 00:02:04
8.   No. 8. Dios la perdone: Y era su madre (God forgive her: and it was her mother) 00:03:40
9.   No. 9. Bien tirada esta (It is nicely stretched) 00:02:59
10.   No. 10. Al Conde Palatino (To the Count Palatine) 00:02:51
11.   No. 11. Y se le quema la casa (And he's burning down the house) 00:02:45
12.   No. 12. No hubo remedio (Nothing could be done about it) 00:06:28

Disc 2

Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario

  24 Caprichos de Goya, Op. 195
1.   No. 13. Quien mas rendido (Which of them is more overwhelmed) 00:02:34
2.   No. 14. Porque fue sensible (Because she was sensitive) 00:04:12
3.   No. 15. Si sabra mas el discipulo (Perhaps the pupil knows better) 00:03:42
4.   No. 16. Brabisimo! (Bravissimo!) 00:02:50
5.   No. 17. De que mal morira (Of what ill will he die) 00:04:56
6.   No. 18. El sueno de la razon produce monstruos (The sleep of reason produces monsters) 00:05:15
7.   No. 19. Hilan delgado (They spin finely) 00:03:24
8.   No. 20. Obsequio a el maestro (Gift to the master) 00:03:43
9.   No. 21. Que pico de oro! (What a golden beak!) 00:02:31
10.   No. 22. Volaverunt (Off they flew) 00:01:47
11.   No. 23. Linda maestra! (Pretty teacher!) 00:03:03
12.   No. 24. Sueno de la mentira y inconstancia (Dream of lying and inconstancy) 00:05:27

Total Playing Time: 01:22:28

Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario

Dukic, Zoran

Label: Naxos

Series: Guitar Collection

Genre: Instrumental

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.572252-53

Barcode: 0747313225279

Physical Release: 03/2009

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group