Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HALFFTER, E.: Carmen [film score] (Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Fitz-Gerald)

HALFFTER, E.: Carmen [film score] (Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Fitz-Gerald)



Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
The Sound of Silents
– Mark Fitz-Gerald talks to Jeremy Siepmann

HALFFTER, E.: Carmen [film score] (Frankfurt Radio Symphony, Fitz-Gerald)

Ernesto Halffter, one of Manuel de Falla’s most admired disciples and a student of Stravinsky and Ravel, was a close associate of iconic figures such as Dalí, García Lorca, and Buñuel on the 20th century Iberian cultural scene. His magnificent score for Jacques Feyder’s 1926 silent film, Carmen, is one of the great impressionistic Spanish masterpieces of its era. More sombre and tragic than the music for Bizet’s opera, Halffter’s vivid panorama depicts the range and depth of the powerful emotions encompassed within the Carmen story, a tale of thwarted love, passion, jealousy, and violence set in the heart of Andalusia in southern Spain. This is not only the work’s world première recording but the first performance to realise the composer’s musical intentions in full.

Halffter, Ernesto

1.   Play with flash player Anime 00:01:26
2.   Play with flash player Modéré (Sombre) 00:04:27
3.   Play with flash player La Vieille Castille: Anime 00:01:26
4.   Play with flash player En Andalousie: Triste et mysterieuse 00:06:28
5.   Play with flash player Real Fabrica de Tobacos 00:11:24
6.   Play with flash player Mysterieux, calme 00:00:49
7.   Play with flash player Mysterieux 00:00:48
8.   Play with flash player Tres retenu 00:01:29
9.   Play with flash player Danse de Carmen: Moderato non troppo - Pesante 00:02:31
10.   Play with flash player Pesante (mais en mesure) 00:03:48
11.   Play with flash player Soledad: Allegretto 00:01:12
12.   Play with flash player La route de la cote vers Tarifa 00:05:11
13.   Play with flash player A l'aube: Tres lointain 00:01:34
14.   Play with flash player Triste et mysterieuse 00:12:57
15.   Play with flash player Paso Doble: Brillante 00:01:36
16.   Play with flash player Mysterieux, calme 00:01:50
17.   Play with flash player Mort de Carmen: Calme 00:08:01

Total Playing Time: 01:06:57

Halffter, Ernesto

Fitz-Gerald, Mark

Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra

Label: Naxos

Series: Film Music Classics

Genre: Orchestral

Catalogue No: 8.572260

Barcode: 747313226078

Release Date: 03/2011

Buy from Online Stores


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group