Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO, M.: Evangélion (A. Marangoni)

CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO, M.: Evangélion (A. Marangoni)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
The Italian Caress: Alessandro Marangoni talks to Jeremy Siepmann
Promo video

CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO, M.: Evangélion (A. Marangoni)

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco was Jewish by culture but regularly composed on Biblical themes. A meditation on stories from the New Testament in music of tender simplicity, moving lyricism and potent drama, the epic but rarely heard Evangélion starts with The Annunciation and concludes with The Last Words and The Resurrection. Composed in 1947 soon after the death of the composer’s father, the work was possibly conceived after a visit to the Acolman Convent in Mexico. This is its first complete recording. Alessandro Marangoni can also be heard in Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s two Piano Concertos [8.572823], described as a “delectable treat” by Gramophone.

Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario

1.   Part I, "The Infancy": No. 1. The Annunciation 00:02:23
2.   Part I, "The Infancy": No. 2. The Nativity 00:02:33
3.   Part I, "The Infancy": No. 3. The Three Kings 00:02:54
4.   Part I, "The Infancy": No. 4. The Massacre of the Innocents 00:01:19
5.   Part I, "The Infancy": No. 5. The Flight into Egypt 00:01:38
6.   Part I, "The Infancy": No. 6. Child Jesus and the Doctors 00:02:35
7.   Part II, "The Life": No. 7. The Baptism on the Jordan 00:02:02
8.   Part II, "The Life": No. 8. The Dance of Salome 00:02:06
9.   Part II, "The Life": No. 9. By the Sea of Galilee 00:02:46
10.   Part II, "The Life": No. 10. Jesus Walking on the Waves 00:02:13
11.   Part II, "The Life": No. 11. The Woman of Samaria 00:03:05
12.   Part II, "The Life": No. 12. The Resurrection of Lazarus 00:02:59
13.   Part II, "The Life": No. 13. Mary Magdalene 00:02:53
14.   Part II, "The Life": No. 14. Jesus and the Money Changers 00:01:10
15.   Part III, "The Words": No. 15. The Sermon on the Mount 00:03:31
16.   Part III, "The Words": No. 16. Pater noster (Our Father who art in Heaven) 00:02:41
17.   Part III, "The Words": No. 17. Sinite parvulos venire ad me (Jesus and the Little children) 00:02:05
18.   Part III, "The Words": No. 18. Invective (Woe unto you, Scribes and Pharisees, Hypocrites) 00:01:46
19.   Part III, "The Words": No. 19. The Wise Virgins and the Foolish Virgins 00:02:53
20.   Part III, "The Words": No. 20. The Lost Sheep 00:02:22
21.   Part III, "The Words": No. 21. The Return of the Prodigal Son 00:02:57
22.   Part IV, "The Passion": No. 22. Hosanna (The Entrance into Jerusalem) 00:01:29
23.   Part IV, "The Passion": No. 23. The Last Supper 00:03:13
24.   Part IV, "The Passion": No. 24. Gethsemane (The Prayer in the Garden) 00:03:52
25.   Part IV, "The Passion": No. 25. Crucifige! (Before Pontius Pilate) 00:02:39
26.   Part IV, "The Passion": No. 26. Golgotha (On the Way to Calvary) 00:03:56
27.   Part IV, "The Passion": No. 27. The Last Words 00:03:16
28.   Part IV, "The Passion": No. 28. The Resurrection 00:02:35

Total Playing Time: 01:11:51

Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario

Marangoni, Alessandro

Label: Naxos

Series: 19th/20th Century Italian Classics

Genre: Instrumental

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.573316

Barcode: 747313331673

Physical Release: 10/2014

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group