Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > ROSSINI: Torvaldo e Dorliska

ROSSINI: Torvaldo e Dorliska


About this Recording

ROSSINI: Torvaldo e Dorliska

Rossini’s semi-serious opera Torvaldo e Dorliska belongs, like Beethoven’s Fidelio, to the genre of ‘rescue’ opera. The hero and heroine of the title both succumb to the power of the villainous Duke, who has designs on the newly married Dorliska. Both are saved in the nick of time by the castle custodian Giorgio, who sends to the absent governor for soldiers to put matters to rights. Highlights include the heartfelt passages for the two lovers, such as the aria 'Dove son? chi m’aita?', in which Dorliska expresses her despair at the news of the supposed death of her husband, and the short duettino from Act II, when they take their leave of each other.

Disc 1

Rossini, Gioachino
Sterbini, Cesare, lyricist(s)

  Torvaldo e Dorliska
1.   Act I: No. 1. Sinfonia 00:07:34
2.   Act I: No. 2. Introduction: E un bel dir che tutto al mondo (Giorgio, Chorus) 00:05:53
3.   Act I: No. 3. Cavatina: Dunque invano i perigli e la morte (Duca, Giorgio, Ormondo, Chorus) 00:07:13
4.   Act I: No. 4. Recitative: Ormondo... La mia gente (Duca, Ormondo, Giorgio) 00:02:08
5.   Act I: No. 5. Scene and Cavatina: Dove son chi m'aita... Tutto e vano (Dorliska) 00:08:06
6.   Act I: No. 6. Recitative: Ah son pure infelice! (Dorliska, Carlotta, Giorgio) 00:03:36
7.   Act I: No. 7. Scene: Ola! Ella... oh ciel! (Duca, Dorliska) 00:07:42
8.   Act I: No. 8. Recitative: Ella più non mi fugge (Duca, Ormondo, Giorgio) 00:03:20
9.   Act I: No. 9. Scene and Cavatina: Tutto e silenzio (Torvaldo) 00:07:20
10.   Act I: Nos. 10 and 11. Recitative: Ah ch'io non reggo ai moti (Torvaldo, Giorgio, Duca) 00:05:47
11.   Act I: No. 11. Trio: Ah qual raggio di speranza (Duca, Torvaldo, Giorgio) 00:11:19
12.   Act I: No. 12 Recitative and Aria: Io non ne posso più (Ormondo) 00:03:21

Disc 2

Rossini, Gioachino
Sterbini, Cesare, lyricist(s)

  Torvaldo e Dorliska
1.   Act I: No. 13. First Finale: Duet: Oh via, signora mia (Carlotta, Dorliska) 00:02:08
2.   Act I: No. 14. Trio: Immota e stupida (Torvaldo, Giorgio, Duca) 00:02:40
3.   Act I: No. 15. Quartet: Mia signora... a me badate (Giorgio, Torvaldo, Duca, Dorliska) 00:04:02
4.   Act I: No. 16. Segue and Stretta of the First Finale: Su, Dorliska... fate cuore (Torvaldo, Dorliska, Duca, Giorgio, Chorus) 00:05:15
5.   Act II: No. 17. Introduction: Bravi, bravi: qua venite (Giorgio, Chorus) 00:02:32
6.   Act II: No. 18. Recitative: Or ben: gia qualche cosa (Giorgio, Torvaldo) 00:01:58
7.   Act II: No. 19. Recitative and Aria: Odimi: ah tu di me, mio buon amico (Torvaldo, Giorgio) 00:05:47
8.   Act II: Nos. 20 and 21. Recitative: No, pentirsi non giova (Duca, Giorgio, Dorliska) 00:04:04
9.   Act II: No. 21. Aria: Ferma, costante, immobile (Dorliska, Duca) 00:08:07
10.   Act II: Nos. 22 and 23. Recitative: Insensata!... e non vede (Duca, Giorgio, Dorliska, Carlotta) 00:01:42
11.   Act II: No. 23. Aria: Una voce lusinghiera (Carlotta) 00:03:48
12.   Act II: No. 24. Recitative and Duet: Non so se ho fatto bene (Giorgio, Duca) 00:06:31
13.   Act II: No. 25. Recitative and Duet: Dunque tu vuoi ch'io parta (Dorliska, Torvaldo) 00:02:42
14.   Act II: No. 26 Recitative and Sextet: Ma via, signori miei (Carlotta, Dorliska, Torvaldo, Duca, Giorgio, Ormondo, Chorus) 00:07:30
15.   Act II: No. 27. Recitative: Ah di noi che sara (Dorliska, Torvaldo, Giorgio, Ormondo, Carlotta) 00:00:56
16.   Act II: No. 28. Scene and Aria: Cedi, cedi! Dagli... (Chorus, Duca, Torvaldo, Giorgio) / No. 29 Recitative: Per bacco, seguitatelo (Giorgio) 00:04:58
17.   Act II: No. 29. Second Finale: Grazie al destin pietoso (Dorliska, Torvaldo, Carlotta, Giorgio, Chorus) 00:03:06

Total Playing Time: 02:21:05

Rossini, Gioachino

Sterbini, Cesare

De Marchi, Alessandro

Czech Chamber Soloists, Brno

ARS Brunensis Chamber Choir

Bellavia, Giovanni; Bianchini, Michele; Castellano, Paola Cigna; De Marchi, Alessandro; Gemmabella, Anna Rita; Rhys-Evans, Huw; Utzeri, Mauro

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660189-90

Barcode: 730099618922

Physical Release: 08/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group