Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > DONIZETTI, G.: Roberto Devereux [Opera] (Bergamo Musica Festival, 2006)

DONIZETTI, G.: Roberto Devereux [Opera] (Bergamo Musica Festival, 2006)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

DONIZETTI, G.: Roberto Devereux [Opera] (Bergamo Musica Festival, 2006)

One of Donizetti’s most emotionally raw operas, Roberto Devereux ossia Il conte di Essex was also the third to be loosely based on episodes in the life of Queen Elizabeth I. It deals with the love of Elizabeth and her favourite, the Earl of Essex, perhaps most tellingly expressed in the Act I duet, Nascondi, frena i palpiti, o misero mio core / Hide, hold back your palpitation, oh my wretched heart! Elizabeth’s subsequent abdication is, however, a matter of dramatic licence, yet provides a memorable operatic conclusion to this tragedy of love and jealousy as she despairs at the death of her lover – Quel sangue versato al ciel s’innalza (The blood that is spilt rises up to Heaven). This inaugural production of the Bergamo Music Festival 2006 features the Greek soprano and leading Donizetti specialist, Dimitra Theodossiou, and the young American baritone Andrew Schroeder, both in superb voice.

Disc 1

Donizetti, Gaetano
Cammarano, Salvadore, lyricist(s)

  Roberto Devereux
1.   Act I: Geme! Pallor funereo (Chorus, Sara) 00:03:24
2.   Act I: All'afflitto e dolce il pianto (Sara, Un Paggio) 00:02:56
3.   Act I: Duchessa… alle fervide preci (Elisabetta, Sara) 00:03:21
4.   Act I: L'amor suo mi fe' beata (Elisabetta) 00:03:08
5.   Act I: Nunzio son del Parlamento (Cecil, Sara, Elisabetta, Un Paggio, Gualtiero, Chorus) 00:04:12
6.   Act I: Donna reale a' piedi tuoi (Roberto, Elisabetta) 00:04:43
7.   Act I: Un tenero core (Elisabetta, Roberto) 00:03:42
8.   Act I: Un lampo orribile (Elisabetta, Roberto) 00:03:02
9.   Act I: Roberto… Che Fra le tue braccia! (Nottingham, Roberto) 00:03:06
10.   Act I: Forse in quel cor sensibile (Nottingham) 00:02:54
11.   Act I: Duca, vieni a conferenza (Cecil, Nottingham, Roberto, Chorus) 00:05:33
12.   Act I: Tutto e silenzio (Sara, Roberto) 00:04:42
13.   Act I: Ah parmi sognar (Roberto, Sara) 00:05:38
14.   Act I: E quando fuggirai (Sara, Roberto) 00:04:17

Disc 2

Donizetti, Gaetano
Cammarano, Salvadore, lyricist(s)

  Roberto Devereux
1.   Act II: L'ore trascorrono (Chorus) 00:04:28
2.   Act II: Ebben - Del reo le sorti (Elisabetta, Cecil, Gualtiero) 00:02:55
3.   Act II: Non venni mai si mesto (Nottingham, Elisabetta) 00:06:26
4.   Act II: Ecco l'indegno… Appressati (Elisabetta, Nottingham, Roberto) 00:07:06
5.   Act II: Scellerato!… malvagio (Nottingham, Roberto, Elisabetta, Chorus) 00:07:05
6.   Act III: Ne riede ancora il mio consorte (Sara, Un Familiare, Nottingham) 00:04:05
7.   Act III: Non sai che un nume vindice (Nottingham, Sara) 00:04:40
8.   Act III: All'ambascia ond'io mi struggo (Sara, Nottingham) 00:03:23
9.   Act III: Ed ancor la tremenda porta (Roberto) 00:04:26
10.   Act III: Come uno spirto angelico (Roberto) 00:02:29
11.   Act III: Odo un suon per l'aria cieca (Roberto, Chorus) 00:05:37
12.   Act III: E Sara in questi orribili momenti (Elisabetta, Chorus) 00:04:16
13.   Act III: Vivi ingrato a lei d'accanto (Elisabetta) 00:05:12
14.   Act III: Che m'apporti (Elisabetta, Cecil, Sara, Nottingham, Chorus) 00:03:38
15.   Act III: Quel sangue versato al cielo s'innalza (Elisabetta, Chorus) 00:06:45

Total Playing Time: 02:07:09

Donizetti, Gaetano

Cammarano, Salvadore

Rota, Marcello

Bergamo Musica Festival Orchestra

Bergamo Musica Festival Chorus

Albani, Luigi; Bragaglia, Federica; Norelli, Tommaso; Pisapia, Massimiliano; Schroeder, Andrew; Theodossiou, Dimitra; Valerio, Giorgio

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660222-23

Barcode: 0730099022279

Physical Release: 08/2008

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group