Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > VERDI, G.: Macbeth (Sferisterio Opera Festival, 2007)

VERDI, G.: Macbeth (Sferisterio Opera Festival, 2007)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

VERDI, G.: Macbeth (Sferisterio Opera Festival, 2007)

Verdi was justifiably pleased with Macbeth, his tenth opera and his first on a Shakespearian subject—it would long remain his own favourite among his ‘early period’ operas. Eighteen years later, at the invitation of the Théâtre Lyrique in Paris, he substantially revised the score, and this is the version (sung in Italian) presented here. The talented young cast is headed by Giuseppe Altomare as Macbeth, one of Verdi’s most profoundly modern anti-heroes—a political animal driven to bloody regicide yet doomed by his very success—with Olha Zhuravel as his obsessively ambitious wife, driven to madness by her own guilt. “Daniele Callegari gives Verdi’s creation its full due, matching the differing styles of the later and earlier music to give a cohesive whole.” – Robert J Farr / MusicWeb International on Naxos 2.110258 (DVD)

Disc 1

Verdi, Giuseppe
Maffei, Andrea / Piave, Francesco Maria / Maffei, Andrea / Piave, Francesco Maria, lyricist(s)

1.   Preludio 00:02:54
2.   Act I: Che faceste Dite su! (Chorus) 00:03:14
3.   Act I: Giorno non vidi mai (Macbeth, Banquo, Chorus) 00:04:32
4.   Act I: Due vaticini compiuti or sono (Macbeth, Banquo, Chorus) 00:02:55
5.   Act I: S'allontanarono! (Chorus) 00:02:08
6.   Act I: Nel di della vittoria … Ambizioso spirto … Vieni t'affretta (Lady Macbeth, a Servant) 00:06:17
7.   Act I: Or tutti sorgete (Lady Macbeth) 00:03:30
8.   Act I: Oh donna mia! (Macbeth, Lady Macbeth) 00:03:12
9.   Act I: Sappia la sposa mia (Macbeth, Lady Macbeth) 00:04:45
10.   Act I: Fatal mia donna! (Macbeth, Lady Macbeth) 00:06:12
11.   Act I: Di destarlo per tempo (Macduff, Banquo, Lady Macbeth, Malcolm, Macbeth, a Lady's Maid, Chorus) 00:02:20
12.   Act I: Schiudi, inferno (Lady Macbeth, Macbeth, Banquo, Macduff, Malcolm, a Lady's Maid, Chorus) 00:05:31
13.   Act II: Perche mi sfuggi... (Lady Macbeth, Macbeth) 00:03:16
14.   Act II: La luce langue (Lady Macbeth) 00:03:50
15.   Act II: Chi v'impose unirvi a noi (Chorus) 00:04:20
16.   Act II: Studia il passo, o mio figlio! … Come dal ciel precipita (Banquo) 00:03:17
17.   Act II: Salve, O Re! (Chorus, Macbeth, Lady Macbeth, a Lady's Maid, Macduff) 00:02:06
18.   Act II: Si colmi il calice (Lady Macbeth, Chorus, a Lady's Maid, Macduff, Macbeth, a Murderer) 00:08:01
19.   Act II: Sangue a me… (Macbeth, Lady Macbeth, Chorus, a Lady's Maid, Macduff) 00:04:39

Disc 2

Verdi, Giuseppe
Maffei, Andrea / Piave, Francesco Maria / Maffei, Andrea / Piave, Francesco Maria, lyricist(s)

1.   Act III: Tre volte miagola (Chorus) 00:04:02
2.   Act III: Ballet 00:10:51
3.   Act III: Finche appelli silenti m'attendete (Macbeth, Chorus, 1st, 2nd and 3rd Apparition) 00:07:46
4.   Act III: Fuggi, regal fantasima… (Macbeth, Chorus) 00:03:56
5.   Act III: Ove son io Svaniro! (Macbeth, Lady Macbeth) 00:03:25
6.   Act IV: Patria oppressa! (Chorus) 00:06:20
7.   Act IV: O figli, o figli miei! … Ah, la paterna mano (Macduff) 00:03:47
8.   Act IV: Dove siam Che bosco e quello (Malcom, Chorus, Macduff) 00:02:47
9.   Act IV: Vegliammo invan due notti (A Doctor, A Lady's Maid, Lady Macbeth) 00:04:31
10.   Act IV: Una macchia e qui tutt'ora (Lady Macbeth, a Doctor, a Lady's Maid) 00:06:21
11.   Act IV: Perfidi! All'Anglo contro me v'unite! (Macbeth) 00:01:40
12.   Act IV: Pieta, rispetto, amore (Macbeth) 00:03:43
13.   Act IV: Ella e morta! (Chorus, Macbeth, a Lady's Maid, Macduff) 00:03:37
14.   Act IV: Vittoria! Vittoria! (Chorus, Malcolm, Macduff) 00:03:53

Total Playing Time: 02:23:38

Verdi, Giuseppe

Maffei, Andrea; Piave, Francesco Maria

Callegari, Daniele

Marchigiana Philharmonic Orchestra

Coro Lirico Marchigiano V. Bellini

Altomare, Giuseppe; Corro, William; Dall'Amico, Luca; Kudinov, Pavel; Pelizzari, Rubens; Pistolesi, Andrea; Voleri, Marco; Zhuravel, Olha

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: 8.660259-60

Barcode: 730099025973

Physical Release: 09/2009

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group