Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > PAVESI, S.: Ser Marcantonio [Opera] (Romano, Castellano, D'Apolito, Bekbosunov, Beltrami, Smolentseva, Silvestri, Spadano)

PAVESI, S.: Ser Marcantonio [Opera] (Romano, Castellano, D'Apolito, Bekbosunov, Beltrami, Smolentseva, Silvestri, Spadano)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

PAVESI, S.: Ser Marcantonio [Opera] (Romano, Castellano, D'Apolito, Bekbosunov, Beltrami, Smolentseva, Silvestri, Spadano)

Stefano Pavesi’s work was swept away by the Rossini operatic avalanche and he is now almost forgotten, but while his vibrantly entertaining (though not without a touch of melancholy) melodramma giocoso Ser Marcantonio has many Rossinian features the young Gioachino’s operatic career was yet to begin when it was first staged. The libretto sets up a typical late eighteenth-century opera buffa plot full of intrigue, buffoonery, disguises and cases of mistaken identity, which may be summarised as “about preventing an old fool from making an ill-advised marriage and stopping his heir from gaining his rightful inheritance”.

Disc 1

Pavesi, Stefano
Anelli, Angelo, lyricist(s)

  Ser Marcantonio
1.   Sinfonia 00:05:36
2.   Act I Scene 1: Introduzione: Amici miei carissimi (Marcantonio, Medoro, Dorina, Lisetta, Pasquino, Chorus) 00:05:41
3.   Act I Scene 1: Recitativo: Che credono costor (Marcantonio, Lisetta, Dorina, Pasquino, Medoro) - Scene 2: Sorella mia (Medoro, Dorina) 00:02:20
4.   Act I Scene 2: Cavatina: Quando, o Dorina amabile (Tobia) 00:03:12
5.   Act I Scene 2: Recitativo: Ma Dorina (Tobia, Medoro, Dorina) - Scene 3: Voi mi fate impazzir (Tobia, Medoro, Lisetta) 00:02:32
6.   Act I Scene 3: Duetto: Che intensi! (Medoro, Tobia) 00:02:40
7.   Act I Scene 4: Cavatina: Mi vien da ridere (Bettina) 00:03:31
8.   Act I Scene 4: Recitativo: Presto presto Cecchina (Bettina, Tobia) 00:01:55
9.   Act I Scene 4: Duetto: Parlo schietto (Bettina, Tobia) 00:05:23
10.   Act I Scene 5: Recitativo: Che Tobia ci tradisca in tal maniera (Dorina, Medero, Lisetta) 00:01:04
11.   Act I Scene 5: Recitative e aria: Come … ti spiega (Medoro) 00:04:24
12.   Act I Scene 7: Recitativo: Ah! Ah! Vecchio qual son (Marcantonio, Tobia) 00:01:30
13.   Act I Scene 7: Terzetto: Signorina (Marcantonio, Tobia, Bettina) 00:03:21
14.   Act I Scene 7: Recitativo: Andiamo bene (Marcantonio, Bettina, Tobia) 00:02:34
15.   Act I Scene 7: Quartetto: Che innocenza! Che candore! (Marcantonio, Bettina, Tobia, Medoro) 00:06:19
16.   Act I Scene 8: Recitativo: Ma possibile e dunque (Pasquino, Lisetta, Dorina) 00:00:41
17.   Act I Scene 8: Aria: Crudeli … Infin l'amante (Dorina) 00:02:09
18.   Act I Scene 9: Recitativo: Crede la sciocca ancor (Pasquino, Lisetta, Tobia, Dorina) 00:01:04
19.   Act I Scene 9: Finale primo: Tu m'attacca - Scene 10: Di sposa la fede - Scene 11: Ho steso gia - Scene 12: Viva, viva gli sposi (Tobia, Lisetta, Dorina, Pasquino, Bettina, Marcantonio, Chorus) 00:14:15

Disc 2

Pavesi, Stefano
Anelli, Angelo, lyricist(s)

  Ser Marcantonio
1.   Act II Scene 1: Introduzione: Son pronti i falegnami (Chorus, Pasquino, Lisetta, Dorina) 00:01:38
2.   Act II Scene 1: Recitativo: Cheti cheti la dentro in quella stanza (Pasquino, Lisetta, Dorina) - Scene 2: Ah! Sensale briccon! (Marcantonio, Lisetta, Pasquino) 00:01:52
3.   Act II Scene 3: Cavatina: Per piacere al mio sposino (Bettina) 00:05:36
4.   Act II Scene 3: Recitativo: Insomma, che cos'hai, caro marito (Bettina, Marcantonio, Pasquino) 00:01:10
5.   Act II Scene 4: Coro: Son pronti i falegnami (Chorus, Marcantonio) 00:01:09
6.   Act II Scene 4: Recitativo: Andate via di qua (Marcantonio, Bettina) 00:01:30
7.   Act II Scene 4: Duetto: Brutto e vecchio (Bettina, Marcantonio) 00:04:25
8.   Act II Scene 5: Recitativo: Ebben … Questa commedia (Dorina, Lisetta) 00:00:18
9.   Act II Scene 5: Cavatina: Vicino quest'alma (Medoro) 00:03:10
10.   Act II Scene 5: Recitativo: Amico, ecco il momento (Tobia, Lisetta, Medoro, Dorina, Marcantonio) 00:01:33
11.   Act II Scene 5: Recitativo e aria: Or capisco, che siete (Tobia) 00:04:35
12.   Act II Scene 7: Recitativo: Povero Marcantonio! (Marcantonio, Pasquino) 00:02:02
13.   Act II Scene 8: Quintetto: Or che tra i taciti (Bettina, Tobia, Medoro, Dorina, Marcantonio) 00:06:14
14.   Act II Scene 9: Recitativo: Impaziente aspetto (Lisetta, Pasquino) 00:01:17
15.   Act II Scene 9: Aria: Un che in eta decrepita (Lisetta) 00:02:21
16.   Act II Scene 10: Recitativo: Voi di qua (Marcantonio, Pasquino, Tobia, Medoro, Dorina, Bettina) 00:03:27
17.   Act II Scene 10: Coro, scena e aria: La calunnia e un gran delitto (Pasquino, Chorus, Bettina) 00:06:56
18.   Act II Scene 11: Recitativo: Che dite, signor zio (Medoro, Pasquino, Marcantonio, Tobia) 00:01:50
19.   Act II Scene 11: Finale: Adunque siamo intesi - Scene 12: Che mi narri - Final Scene: Ritorni sereno (Tobia, Medoro, Marcantonio, Dorina, Pasquino, Lisetta, Chorus, Bettina) 00:08:10

Total Playing Time: 02:09:24

Pavesi, Stefano

Anelli, Angelo

Spadano, Massimo

South West German Chamber Orchestra, Pforzheim

Poznań Camerata Bach Choir

Bekbosunov, Timur; Beltrami, Silvia; Castellano, Loriana; Castrignanò, Eliseo; D'Apolito, Matteo; Romano, Marco Filippo; Silvestri, Massimilliano; Smolentseva, Svetlana

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Classical

Catalogue No: 8.660331-32

Barcode: 730099033176

Physical Release: 05/2013

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Spain Only:
Buy from ForumClasico
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group