Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HANSON: Merry Mount

HANSON: Merry Mount


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
Gerard Schwarz's Naxos Interview
An American Champion – Gerard Schwarz Interviewed by Jeremy Siepmann

HANSON: Merry Mount

Born in Nebraska, of Scandinavian heritage, Howard Hanson was influenced as much by Jean Sibelius as by his American surroundings. The plot of his 1933 opera, Merry Mount, set in New England in 1625 during a conflict between the Puritans and the Cavaliers, is anything but merry. However, the composer described the music as “warm-blooded…essentially a lyrical work [that] makes use of broad melodic lines as often as possible”. Listeners familiar with Hanson’s first two symphonies will find strong melodic and harmonic affinities with Merry Mount. This recording derives from a critically acclaimed pair of concert performances by Seattle Symphony and Gerard Schwarz in October 1996. Hanson’s Symphony No. 1 can be heard on Naxos 8.559072.

Disc 1

Hanson, Howard
Stokes, Richard L., lyricist(s)

  Merry Mount, Op. 31
1.   Act I: Prelude 00:03:01
2.   Act I: Be as a lion, dread Jehovah… From plots of Hell and witcheries (Puritans, Bradford, Bridget, Plentiful, Myles Brodrib, Tewke, Desire) 00:08:09
3.   Act I: Ah - I deny thy Christ (Bradford, Banks, Tewke, Puritans) 00:03:51
4.   Act I: A savoury discourse, good Master Bradford (Bradford, Tewke) 00:02:49
5.   Act I: Last night came One that paced a - down the stairway of the sky (Bradford) 00:02:37
6.   Act I: My son, Thou'rt over - ripe for marriage! (Tewke, Bradford) 00:01:44
7.   Act I: The willow keep to thatch our sleep (Plentiful, Bradford) 00:03:42
8.   Act I: Plentiful Tewke hath catched the preacher! (Love, Bradford, Peregrine Brodrib, Prence, Children) 00:04:48
9.   Act I: Gi' you good night, sir… (Prence, Myles Brodrib, Marigold, Bradford, Tinker, Morton, Puritans, Cavaliers) 00:04:59
10.   Act I: Scratch a Roundhead, find a rebel … Thrones of Earth be idle things (Prence, Scrooby, Tewke, Bradford, Puritans, Cavaliers) 00:02:15
11.   Act I: Right rev'rend priest, our holy joy … Respect the Sabbath day (Prence, Scrooby, Tewke, Bradford, Puritans, Cavaliers) 00:02:41
12.   Act I: Marigold! Lady! … Let us be lions of Jehovah (Bradford, Marigold, Lackland, Myles Brodrib, Tewke, Puritans, Cavaliers) 00:04:37

Disc 2

Hanson, Howard
Stokes, Richard L., lyricist(s)

  Merry Mount, Op. 31
1.   Act II Scene 1: Prelude - I wind and I wind, My true love to find (Men and Women) 00:03:48
2.   Act II Scene 1: From forth the hill … I christen 'Merry Mount' - Maypole Dance (Lackland, Men and Women) 00:03:56
3.   Act II Scene 1: Long Live the Lady (Men and Women) 00:00:53
4.   Act II Scene 1: Marigold! When the morning stars together sang (Lackland, Marigold, Men and Women) 00:04:23
5.   Act II Scene 1: Methinks I see th'infernal rendezvous of Satan and his bond - slaves (Bradford, Men and Women, Morton, Tewke, Puritans) 00:06:36
6.   Act II Scene 2: O pity me! Thou alone of women Canst heal this tortured heart (Bradford, Marigold, Lackland, Tewke, Puritans) 00:03:05
7.   Act II Scene 2: Let them strike twice, And I will come to thee! (Marigold) 00:02:38
8.   Act II Scene 2: Hale her to the village, A prisoner… (Tewke, Bradford) 00:00:40
9.   Act II Scene 2: Almighty Father, My King and my God (Bradford, Mystic Voices) 00:03:11
10.   Act II Scene 2: Chorus of Mystic Voices 00:03:11
11.   Act II Scene 3: Alleluia! Alleluia! (Bradford, Lucifer, Monsters, Witches and Demons) 00:14:23
12.   Act II Scene 3: Now thou art mine (Lucifer, Monsters, Witches and Demons, Bradford) 00:01:47
13.   Act II Scene 3: Rise up, my love my fair one (Bradford, Astoreth) 00:04:33
14.   Act III Scene 1: Prelude 00:07:30
15.   Act III Scene 2: Gird you with Sackcloth (Tewke, Puritans) 00:02:56
16.   Act III Scene 2: Never more shall prayer ravish these lips!… (Bradford, Chorus) 00:03:37
17.   Act III Scene 2: Woe, woe! Lost sheep are we (Puritans, Bradford, Myles Brodrib) 00:01:47
18.   Act III Scene 2: No witch am I; But one that long ago was happy (Marigold) 00:04:31
19.   Act III Scene 2: Ay, even now thy lover frets at Hellgate - Death to the Witch (Bradford, Marigold, Ensemble) 00:05:23

Total Playing Time: 02:04:01

Hanson, Howard

Stokes, Richard L.

Schwarz, Gerard

Seattle Symphony Orchestra

Northwest Boychoir; Seattle Girls' Choir; Seattle Symphony Chorale

Austin, Charles Robert; Bristol, Christopher; Buchholz, Gene; Dent, Fred K.; Ellis, Byron; Flanigan, Lauren; Freudenstein, Rosy; Gudas, Paul; Huber, Diana; Jessup, Daniel; Johnson, Barry; Luchetti, Gino; MacNeil, Walter; Marley, Louise; Schneider, Joachim; Walton, Nan Beth; Zeller, Richard

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: 8.669012-13

Barcode: 730099691222

Physical Release: 05/2007

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group