Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > HAGEN, D.: Shining Brow [Opera] (Orth, Harris, Frankenberry, Buffalo Philharmonic, Falletta)

HAGEN, D.: Shining Brow [Opera] (Orth, Harris, Frankenberry, Buffalo Philharmonic, Falletta)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
JoAnn Falletta's Naxos Interview
JoAnn Falleta interview on WUOL
Woman At Work – JoAnn Falletta Talks With Jeremy Siepmann

HAGEN, D.: Shining Brow [Opera] (Orth, Harris, Frankenberry, Buffalo Philharmonic, Falletta)

Daron Hagen and Paul Muldoon’s first, and highly successful, opera is based on the life of the great American architect Frank Lloyd Wright and Taliesin (Welsh for ‘Shining Brow’), the home he built for himself in Wisconsin. Popular with audiences and critics alike, Shining Brow has been hailed as a masterpiece full of fresh ideas, and is frequently performed. ‘Hagen has a gift for the big tune, and he serves up some beauties’ (New York Times). ‘Its libretto is unusually inventive and poetic’ (Capital Times).

Disc 1

Hagen, Daron Aric
Muldoon, Paul, lyricist(s)

  Shining Brow
1.   Prologue: So much so, that even now I flinch… (Sullivan, Waiter) 00:04:41
2.   Prologue: So the poetry of architecture… (Draftsmen) 00:01:04
3.   Act I Scene 1: Some are destined to stand… (Wright, Mamah, Edwin, Draftsmen) 00:05:11
4.   Act I Scene 1: The music, so… the music of architecture… (Draftsmen) 00:01:30
5.   Act I Scene 1: Arietta: And her scent, was it musk (Wright) 00:03:23
6.   Act I Scene 1: Aria: If not for me, then for the children's sake… (Catherine, Wright) 00:04:47
7.   Act I Scene 1: Aria: Each room opens into the next, Catherine… (Wright, Sullivan) 00:04:48
8.   Act I Scene 1: Interlude: Sullivan Variations 00:02:23
9.   Act I Scene 1: When I woke up this morning… (Workmen) 00:03:18
10.   Act I Scene 2: Far be it from me to suggest… (Women, Workmen) 00:02:56
11.   Act I Scene 2: Arietta: Three long days and three long nights… (Edwin, Workmen) 00:02:26
12.   Act I Scene 2: Aria: The truth is that my mouth is full of nails (Edwin) 00:03:20
13.   Act I Scene 2: They say the soul weighs about the same as… (Workmen, Mamah, Wright) 00:03:00
14.   Act I Scene 2: Melodrama: Be it mud hut, mansion or mosque… (Mamah, Wright, Edwin) 00:01:35
15.   Act I Scene 2: Trio: For three long months I've tried to ease… (Mamah, Wright, Edwin) 00:04:05
16.   Act I Scene 2: Interlude: She sweeps us off our feet …, "Hymn to Nature" (Chorus) 00:02:00
17.   Act I Scene 3: …back into earth and air (Mamah, Chorus) 00:00:46
18.   Act I Scene 3: Frank, how much longer must I endure… (Mamah) 00:14:52

Disc 2

Hagen, Daron Aric
Muldoon, Paul, lyricist(s)

  Shining Brow
1.   Act II: Prelude 00:01:35
2.   Act II: So much, so much, so much, so much, so… (Townspeople, Reporters, Guests) 00:01:50
3.   Act II: Sextet: With a tally ho and view halloo… (Reporters, Townswomen) 00:03:11
4.   Act II: Aria: Ladies and Gentlemen… (Wright, Chorus) 00:09:02
5.   Act II: Questions: Mister Wright! (Reporters, Townswomen) 00:00:49
6.   Act II: Dialogue: Together, Mamah, we will take… (Wright, Mamah, Chorus) 00:02:26
7.   Act II: Sextet: Just my luck to end up here… (Reporters, Wright, Mamah) 00:01:56
8.   Act II: Interlude: For when all's said and done, we'd like to know… (Barbershop Quartet) 00:02:20
9.   Act II: Canape Variations: As the guests arrive at Taliesin… (Company) 00:09:12
10.   Act II: Oration: I am the birch stripped of its bark (Chef) 00:01:08
11.   Act II: Interlude: The Fire 00:02:28
12.   Act II: Scene: Frank. Lieber Meister… (Wright, Sullivan) 00:04:56
13.   Act II: Duet: For ten long years I’ve tried to heal… (Wright, Sullivan) 00:04:09
14.   Act II: Eddie Why so crestfallen So forlorn (Wright, Edwin, Sullivan) 00:01:52
15.   Act II: Arietta: I cry out from the Slough of Despond… (Sullivan) 00:02:11
16.   Act II: Out of the depths we heard them cry again… (Townspeople, Wright) 00:02:23
17.   Act II: For ten long hours they were trapped… (Wright, Edwin) 00:05:48
18.   Act II: Out of the depths we heard them cry again… (Townpeople, Wright) 00:01:43
19.   Act II: Arietta: Not musk, cedar perhaps… (Wright) 00:02:04
20.   Act II: Aria: He's found! We've found the chef! (The Maid) 00:02:18
21.   Act II: Not maple. Pine; the scent of a plain pine box… (Wright, Chorus) 00:02:37
22.   Act II: Aria: I think of the balsam fir… (Wright) 00:06:23

Total Playing Time: 02:18:26

Hagen, Daron Aric

Muldoon, Paul

Falletta, JoAnn

Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra

Buffalo Philharmonic Chorus

Barton, Tony; Curran, Matthew; Demler, James; Eley, Elem; Fleischer, Deborah; Fleischer, Eric; Frankenberry, Robert; Harris, Brenda; Lyons, Gilda; Orth, Robert; Reckamp, Jennifer Lynn; Valby, Elaine

Label: Naxos

Series: Opera Classics

Genre: Opera

Period: Contemporary

Catalogue No: 8.669020-21

Barcode: 730099902076

Physical Release: 03/2009

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group