Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > DVOŘÁK, A.: Svatá Ludmila (St. Ludmilla) [Oratorio] (Aghová, Breedt, Beczala, Cologne West German Radio Chorus and Orchestra, G. Albrecht)

DVOŘÁK, A.: Svatá Ludmila (St. Ludmilla) [Oratorio] (Aghová, Breedt, Beczala, Cologne West German Radio Chorus and Orchestra, G. Albrecht)


Back Cover Image 

DVOŘÁK, A.: Svatá Ludmila (St. Ludmilla) [Oratorio] (Aghová, Breedt, Beczala, Cologne West German Radio Chorus and Orchestra, G. Albrecht)

Dvořák, Antonín
Vrchlicky, Jaroslav, lyricist(s)

  Svata Ludmila (St. Ludmilla), Op. 71, B. 144
1.   Part I: Introduction: Tmy vratily se v skryse skal a lesu (The dusk departs to gloomy caves and forests) (Chorus) 00:07:53
2.   Part I: Recitative: Vesno smava, Vesno sniva (Merry Springtime, dreamy Springtime) (Tenor) 00:00:59
3.   Part I: Kvety, jimiz Vesna vabi (Blossoms, with which Spring allures us) (Chorus) 00:04:03
4.   Part I: Svate jitro jest (Holy dawn and holy night) (Chorus) 00:04:24
5.   Part I: Trihav, ktery patri troji tvari (Triglaw, thou with three - fold countenance) (Chorus) 00:03:40
6.   Part I: Recitative: Me srdce chvi se tlukem bournym dnes (My heart is beating wildly) (Soprano) 00:02:23
7.   Part I: Slys nase pisne horouci a vrouci (Here when we sing our psalm) (Chorus) 00:04:29
8.   Part I: Aria: Od detstvi ku oltari mne vodil svaty cit (When young it was the altar I ever held most dear) (Soprano) 00:04:37
9.   Part I: Vzdyt bozi s nami jsou, kam bludny krok se sine (The gods are close at hand, where'er we stray and falter) (Chorus) 00:02:33
10.   Part I: Sem rychle Vesny kvet, at sochu ovencime (Festoon with flowers gay the statue of great Vesna) (Tenor) 00:01:23
11.   Part I: Ky v pozadi to hluk (What causes all that noise) (Chorus) 00:03:12
12.   Part I: Aria: Do prachu s vami! Jeden jest Buh! (Now kiss the dust all! One God there is!) (Bass, Chorus) 00:04:00
13.   Part I: Kdo onen muz, jejz nestih's nebe blesk (What man is this whom lightening will not fell) (Chorus) 00:03:55
14.   Part I: Aria: O dovol abych zlibat smwla tvych nohou prach (I beg thee, only thy dusty feet My lips I would lay) (Soprano) 00:07:06
15.   Part I: Recitative: Vstup v nitro sve, mym domem neni zeme (Upon this earth thy search would be a vain quest) (Bass) 00:01:09
16.   Part I: Co bude nyni (What will befall us, in the time approaching) (Chorus) 00:02:22
17.   Part I: Vse lame se a borti v chaos tmavy (Now everything is crumbling, all is chaos) (Chorus) 00:04:22
18.   Part II: Introduction, Recitative and Aria: O, v jake sere lesni stiny (Oh, in the fearful forest shadows) (Alto) 00:08:10
19.   Part II: Duet: Te ptam se te: co najit chces (Pray tell me now, what do you seek) (Soprano, Alto) 00:03:53
20.   Part II: Aria: Ja neklamal se, bud vitana, dcero! (No error made, I welcome you, daughter!) (Bass) 00:02:40
21.   Part II: Recitative: Dik, otce, ja se neklamala (Thank, Father, I felt sure I was right) (Soprano) 00:00:27
22.   Part II: Aria: Nuz tedy vez a pojmi v srdce svoje (First you should learn) (Bass) 00:01:44
23.   Part II: Recitative: O doprej, at se v pokore dal cvicim (Oh tell me, for humility I long now) (Soprano) 00:00:40
24.   Part II: Trio: Tam Kristuv kriz! (Behold Christ's Cross!) (Soprano, Alto, Bass) 00:03:48
25.   Part II: Vesele hvozdem, vesele polem (Gaily we pass through field and through forest) (Soprano, Alto, Bass, Chorus) 00:02:24
26.   Part II: O jaky obraz oku memu se v stinu lesnim otvira! (Oh, what a sight there in the shadows, and one that causes me to fear!) (Tenor, Chorus) 00:03:45
27.   Part II: Recitative: Ja bludne duse svetlu vracim (I led the lost souls out of darkness) (Bass) 00:00:44
28.   Part II: O neklamu se, chapu juz (I think, the truth I now infer) (Chorus) 00:02:06
29.   Part II: Recitative: Ach, ona, po niz srdce moje prahne (Ah, it is she for whom my heart is yearning) (Tenor, Bass) 00:02:00
30.   Part II: Aria: O, cestu ukaz mi, jak ji mam dobyt (Oh, show to me the way that I must win her) (Tenor) 00:04:29
31.   Part II: O vizte, knize nas vrha se na kolena (Oh, look there, see our Prince upon his knees) (Chorus) 00:00:50
32.   Part II: Recitative: O, kterak mohu zvednout k tobe zraku (How is it possible to raise my eyelids) (Soprano) 00:03:07
33.   Part II: O beda, nechce slyset jeho lkani! (Oh, heavens! She'll not listen to his pleading!) (Chorus) 00:00:19
34.   Part II: Recitative: Jak z krasneho snu nahle procitly (I rudely awake from a perfect dream) (Tenor, Bass) 00:02:11
35.   Part II: Ja hledala jsem zari toho jitra (For this new shining dawn I am now searching) (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass, Chorus) 00:05:41
36.   Part III: Introduction: Hospodine, pomiluj ny! (Mighty Lord, have mercy on us!) (Chorus) 00:04:34
37.   Part III: Recitative: Nuz pristupte, mnou vire vyuceni (Come forward all to whom I've taught the new creed!) (Tenor, Bass) 00:01:23
38.   Part III: Duet: O, nech juz skanout nad nasimi cely (Anoint our foreheads with the holy water) (Soprano, Tenor) 00:07:26
39.   Part III: Recitative: U cile stojim snahy sve a tuzby (Here on the threshold of my aspirations) (Soprano, Bass) 00:02:06
40.   Part III: Nuz pokleknete pred biskupem oba (So both of you will kneel before Methodius) (Chorus) 00:01:45
41.   Part III: Duchu svaty, sestup v nachu (Holy Ghost in royal purple) (Bass, Chorus) 00:02:48
42.   Part III: O znete, pisne, znete k nebes bani (Now let the heavens echo with our anthem) (Alto, Bass, Chorus) 00:00:51
43.   Part III: Panno, matko stvoritele (Virgin mother of our Saviour) (Alto, Chorus) 00:02:21
44.   Part III: O znete, pisne, znete k nebes bani (Now let the heavens echo with our anthem) (Alto, Bass, Chorus) 00:02:27
45.   Part III: Hospodine, pomiluj ny! (Mighty Lord, have mercy on us!) (Soprano, Alto, Tenor 1, Tenor 2, Bass, Chorus) 00:06:29

Total Playing Time: 02:23:38

Dvořák, Antonín

Vrchlicky, Jaroslav

Albrecht, Gerd

Cologne West German Radio Symphony Orchestra

Cologne West German Radio Chorus; Prager Chamber Choir

Aghova, Livia; Beczała, Piotr; Breedt, Michelle; Vele, Ludek

Label: Orfeo

Genre: Choral - Sacred

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: C513992H

Barcode: 4011790513225

Physical Release: 1999

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group