Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MUSSORGSKY: Boris Godunov (Liceu, 2004) (NTSC)

MUSSORGSKY: Boris Godunov (Liceu, 2004) (NTSC)



MUSSORGSKY: Boris Godunov (Liceu, 2004) (NTSC)

Modest Mussorgsky
Boris Godunov
Gran Theatre del Liceu, Barcelona 2004

Matti Salminen
Brian Asawa
Stefania Toczyska
Albert Shagidullin
Philip Langridge
Eric Halvarson
Anatoli Kotcherga

Orquestra Simfonica i cor del Gran Teatre del Liceu

Stage Director: Willy Decker

Picture Format: 16:9, 1 DVD
Sound Format: LPCM stereo, DD 5.1
Running Time: 152 mins
Region Code: NTSC All
Subtitle Languages : GB, F, D, I, E
Territory: Worldwide

  • Boris Godunov is Mussorgsky’s masterpiece and his only completed opera, describing the fate of a man at the very height of his power as the Russian tsar and heir of Ivan the Terrible.
  • In writing the opera, Mussorgsky tried to avoid western influences of German and Italian opera and to stress the impressive popular and religious tradition of Russian music. As a result the score has an extraordinary power and boldness that it owes to its impressive and sombre orchestration, reflecting the spirit of the tragedy.
  • The simple, sober, yet powerful staging presented on this newly released DVD was produced at the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona in autumn 2004. It is based on the original version of the score, which comprised seven scenes written in 1868-9.
  • The demanding title role here is performed by Matti Salminen, a Finnish bass with a long-standing reputation on the international opera scene and a compelling singer-actor. The cast also includes terrific English tenor Philip Langridge. With its mass scenes and frequent choir appearances, this staging also confirms the Liceu’s excellent reputation as one of the leading opera houses in Europe.

Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich

Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich

Weigle, Sebastian

Liceu Grand Theatre Orchestra

Liceu Grand Theatre Chorus

Arnet, Marie; Asawa, Brian; Casanova, Jordi; Ferrer, Josep; Grigoriev, Alex; Halfvarson, Eric; Ilari, Ferran; Kotcherga, Anatoli; Langridge, Philip; Lindskog, Par; Mentxaka, Itxaro; Pittman Jennings, David; Roldan, Javier; Salminen, Matti; Shagidullin, Albert; Toczyska, Stefania


Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: DVWW-OPBORIS

Barcode: 824121001810

Distribution Note(s):

Listening samples not available for this release.

Release Date: 07/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Spain Only:
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group