Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > BULGAKOV, M.: Dog's Heart (A) (Unabridged)

BULGAKOV, M.: Dog's Heart (A) (Unabridged)


About this Recording

BULGAKOV, M.: Dog's Heart (A) (Unabridged)

When a respected surgeon decides to transplant human body parts into a stray dog, he creates a monster—drunken, profligate, aggressive and selfish. It seems the worst aspects of the donor have been transplanted as well. As his previously well-regulated home descends into riotous chaos, the doctor realises he will have to try to reverse the operation; but the dog isn’t so keen…

Wild, uproarious and deliriously comic, Bulgakov’s short novel is at once a comment on the problems of 1920s Russia and a lasting satire on human nature.

Disc 1

  A Dog's Heart (Unabridged)
1.   1. Awoooooo - wo - wo - woo! O, look at me… 00:06:06
2.   'My God!… Such weather… oh…' 00:06:06
3.   'Enough for now…' The gentleman spoke haltingly… 00:05:19
4.   2. There is absolutely no reason to learn… 00:06:53
5.   'Where are you going, you shaggy devil!' 00:06:05
6.   The opposite carved door opened… 00:05:46
7.   He disappeared to be replaced by a rustling… 00:06:49
8.   The four fell silent again… 00:05:52
9.   Philip Philippovich took the receiver off the hook… 00:06:14
10.   3. Thinly sliced salmon and marinated eel… 00:06:06
11.   Philip Philippovich rang and Zina came in… 00:05:00
12.   'Here's what it is…' 00:05:45
13.   4. But none of it happened. 00:05:23

Disc 2

  A Dog's Heart (Unabridged)
1.   As they passed the streetcar rails… 00:05:40
2.   And then, on that terrible day… 00:06:00
3.   The dog decided he felt the most hatred… 00:06:10
4.   The implement flashed in the hands… 00:06:12
5.   5. The notebook of Doctor Ivan Arnoldovich Bormenthal. 00:05:00
6.   (There is a break in the writing…) 00:04:23
7.   January 8. Late in the evening… 00:05:06
8.   January 12. He placed his hands in his trouser pockets… 00:05:45
9.   6. It was a winter night. 00:05:06
10.   Philip Philippovich shook his head and spoke… 00:07:21
11.   The man maintained a victorious silence… 00:06:55
12.   Philip Philippovich compressed his lips… 00:05:08
13.   'There he is!' Daria Petrovna shouted… 00:05:03
14.   'What are you sloshing it all around the apartment for…' 00:05:07

Disc 3

  A Dog's Heart (Unabridged)
1.   7. 'No, no and no,' Bormenthal spoke insistently… 00:05:16
2.   'You should read something, at least,' he offered… 00:06:09
3.   'Oh, it looks like our apartment…' 00:04:51
4.   8. No one knows what Philip Philippovich had decided… 00:06:10
5.   Furballov swayed, opened his completely glazed eyes… 00:05:57
6.   Philip Philippovich stopped him with a gesture… 00:06:10
7.   Bormenthal rolled up his sleeves suddenly… 00:05:53
8.   9. The showing promised by Doctor Bormenthal… 00:05:04
9.   'Doctor, I'm begging you.' 00:05:01
10.   Then the door opened ceremoniously… 00:05:20
11.   The crime ripened and fell like a stone… 00:04:57
12.   Epilogue 00:04:01
13.   'I don't understand,' the man in black said… 00:04:09

Total Playing Time: 03:45:18

Bulgakov, Mikhail

McMillan, Roy

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Catalogue No: NA0002

Barcode: 9781843794028

Physical Release: 2010

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group