Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > SWIFT, J.: Gulliver's Travels (Abridged)

SWIFT, J.: Gulliver's Travels (Abridged)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

SWIFT, J.: Gulliver's Travels (Abridged)

Lemuel Gulliver sets out on a series of travels, but each time he finds himself shipwrecked in new and unfamiliar lands. And how unfamiliar! In Lilliput, everyone is tiny, and it takes thousands of them to capture him; in Brobdingnag, they’re huge and treat him as a sort of living toy; in Laputa, they live on a floating island inventing impossibly mad projects; and the Houyhnhnms are horses! But through all his adventures, Gulliver learns to see humans in a different way, too.

One of the world’s great works of fiction, Gulliver’s Travels keeps all its humour and satire in this new retelling.

Disc 1

  Gulliver's Travels (Abridged)
1.   Part 1: A Voyage to Lilliput 00:05:31
2.   The Lord understood me very well. 00:06:00
3.   The emperor held frequent councils to debate… 00:06:03
4.   One morning, about a fortnight later… 00:04:39
5.   When the Blefuscudians perceived the whole fleet moving… 00:04:42
6.   I feel I should give some general ideas of the place… 00:04:52
7.   When I was just preparing to pay my attendance… 00:05:44
8.   Part 2: A Voyage to Brobdingnag 00:05:44
9.   All the reapers sat down in a circle about me… 00:04:52
10.   My master, thinking this might indeed be profitable… 00:06:42
11.   I was every day furnishing the court with some ridiculous story. 00:06:25
12.   I had now been two years in this country… 00:07:14

Disc 2

  Gulliver's Travels (Abridged)
1.   Part 3: A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi and Luggnagg 00:07:07
2.   Those to whom the King had entrusted me… 00:06:04
3.   So I left and was gently placed on the ground… 00:04:56
4.   In another room, I found someone who had a plan… 00:04:19
5.   I arrived at the Port of Maldonada… 00:05:16
6.   Part 4: A Voyage to the Country of the Houyhnhnms 00:06:28
7.   I could frequently distinguish the word Yahoo… 00:06:07
8.   The curiosity and impatience of my master… 00:05:17
9.   Over many months and in many conversations… 00:05:37
10.   Having lived three years in this country… 00:06:07
11.   In the midst of all this happiness… 00:04:27
12.   As I was looking about for somewhere else to land the canoe… 00:04:22
13.   As soon as I entered the house… 00:03:47

Total Playing Time: 02:18:22

Swift, Jonathan

Soames, Benjamin

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Junior Classic Fiction

Catalogue No: NA0073

Barcode: 9781843795599

Physical Release: 09/2012

For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group