Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > Christmas Collection (The) (Unabridged)

Christmas Collection (The) (Unabridged)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

Christmas Collection (The) (Unabridged)

Christmas brings out the best and the worst in us, as can be seen in this evocative anthology. Among what Thomas Love Peacock calls the ‘many poetical charms in the heraldings of Christmas’ there are eulogies by saints and diatribes from curmudgeons. Here, Christmas is expounded by divines, sung by rustics, deplored by philosophers and made mystical in stories.

This collection includes complete versions of old favourites and new discoveries: a sermon by Lancelot Andrewes, an account of Christmas under the Puritans, a first, poverty-stricken Christmas in turn-of-the-century New York and a Mummers’ play.

Adding the final touch is the music: from traditional Christmas carols and Corelli to Benjamin Britten. On this recording, Christmas past brings alive Christmas present.

Disc 1

  The Christmas Collection
1.   A Recipe For Christmas Pastry 00:02:34
2.   Britannia's Housewives Blithe 00:02:30
3.   The Bird Of Dawning 00:00:37
4.   The Reverend Doctor Opimian Soliloquises On Christmas 00:01:59
5.   Yule Log 00:00:46
6.   Christmas Day 00:01:51
7.   December 00:01:09
8.   Sir Roger de Coverley's Christmas 00:02:23
9.   Kids Stuff 00:02:09
10.   Christmas 00:02:35
11.   From Under The Greenwood Tree 00:05:21
12.   Christmas Invitation Humbly Inscrib'd To The Honourable Beef Steak Club 00:01:34
13.   A Visit From St. Nicholas 00:03:09
14.   Letter: All Quiet On The Western Front 00:04:16
15.   The Oxen (Carol: In The Bleak Midwinter) 00:01:43
16.   I Saw A Stable 00:00:33
17.   The Innkeeper's Wife 00:02:17
18.   A Civil Wartime Christmas 1657 00:02:17
19.   The Boar's Head 00:01:21
20.   A Restoration Christmas 00:02:51
21.   Heap On More Wood! 00:01:12
22.   Mr. Pickwick's Christmas 00:04:10
23.   Snapdragon 00:02:08
24.   Rectory Christmas 00:03:25
25.   Everything And More 00:02:28
26.   The Little Match - Girl 00:07:26
27.   The Christmas Tree 00:01:45
28.   The Finest Festive Feast 00:02:30
29.   First Married Christmas 00:06:57

Disc 2

  The Christmas Collection
1.   Dark Oak, Light Candles 00:13:46
2.   Glennie Nell's Roast Christmas Possum 00:03:24
3.   Christmas In Wartime 00:07:43
4.   Curmedgeonly Christmases: Oh Noisey Bells, Be Dumb 00:01:10
5.   Gifts Are Like Hooks 00:00:52
6.   Curmedgeonly Christmases: Christmas Not What It Was 00:01:27
7.   Christmas Day In The Workhouse 00:08:34
8.   Curmedgeonly Christmases: Horrible Heathen Rite 00:05:31
9.   Partying: The Christmas Mummers' Play As Performed In Some Of The Villages Near Lutterworth, Leicest 00:06:28
10.   Food For Thought: The Magi - A Sermon Preached By Lancelot Andrewes Before The King's Majesty At Whi 00:06:52
11.   Food For Thought: The Magi 00:00:49
12.   Food For Thought: Little Things 00:00:43
13.   Afterthought 00:01:48
14.   The Shop Of Ghosts 00:10:31
15.   Ceremony Upon Candlemas Eve 00:00:30
16.   Ceremony For Candlemas Day 00:00:28
17.   Ring Out, Wild Bells 00:03:12

Total Playing Time: 02:29:44

Engel, Susan; Harris, Simon; Jeffrey, Peter; Moffatt, John; Ross, Liza; Soames, Benjamin; Timson, David

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Anthologies / Collections

Catalogue No: NA214912

Barcode: 9789629545017

Boxset: NAX33012

Physical Release: 10/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group