Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > FERRIE, E.: More Tales from the Greek Legends (Unabridged)

FERRIE, E.: More Tales from the Greek Legends (Unabridged)


About this Recording

FERRIE, E.: More Tales from the Greek Legends (Unabridged)

Bellerophon and the winged horse Pegasus launch into the blue sky in search of the dreaded three-headed Chimera, but will success go to the hero’s head? Orpheus, devastated by the death of his wife, Eurydice, dares the dangers of the Kingdom of the Dead in an attempt to bring her back to life. Echo loves Narcissus but he only loves himself: a story that can only end in sadness. These and other colourful legends from Ancient Greece are retold in lively form by Benjamin Soames, with classical music providing further excitement.

Disc 1

  Bellerophon and the Chimera
1.   Bellerophon and the Chimera 00:03:58
2.   Glaucus feared for his son... 00:02:39
3.   When his father sent him there... 00:03:03
4.   At that time, in the far east of Lobates kingdom... 00:04:26
5.   Bellerophon thanked the goddess somewhat brusquely... 00:04:15
6.   As the first red rays of the morning sun... 00:03:16
7.   Bellerophon had thought long and hard... 00:03:15
8.   Bellerophon realised that he could not sneak up... 00:03:06
9.   As he flew, he kept one hand on the bridle... 00:03:47
10.   A wave of pleasure, relief and pride... 00:04:22
  The Anger of Artemis
11.   The Anger of Artemis 00:01:45
  The Story of Orion the Hunter
12.   The Story of Orion the Hunter 00:04:11
13.   Chios was a beautiful, lush island... 00:03:59
14.   That evening a great feast was organised... 00:04:05
15.   Orion was enraged at what he felt... 00:03:37
16.   So it was that one day just before dawn... 00:03:04
17.   She set a trap for him, luring him into a valley... 00:03:03
  Meleager and the Calydonian Boar
18.   Meleager and the Calydonian Boar 00:05:32
19.   One day, quite high in the mountains... 00:05:01
  Atlanta’s Marriage and the Golden Apples of the Hesperides
20.   Atlanta’s Marriage and the Golden Apples of the Hesperides 00:03:19
21.   The trumpets blew and the two athletes... 00:02:57

Disc 2

  Orpheus and Eurydice
1.   Orpheus and Eurydice 00:03:59
2.   Orpheus was beside himself with grief... 00:05:05
3.   Eventually they came to the palace of Hades... 00:05:48
4.   Time wore on, and when Persephone's mother... 00:03:28
5.   It was to this land of the underworld that Orpheus... 00:04:50
6.   Orpheus trudged on determinedly until eventually... 00:04:39
7.   Now as we have seen, the huntress Artemis... 00:05:52
  Artemis and Actaeon
8.   Artemis and Actaeon 00:04:04
9.   Moving carefully so as not to alert them to his approach... 00:04:03
10.   When he came to his senses... 00:03:07
11.   The dogs stank 00:03:27
  Echo and Narcissus
12.   Echo and Narcissus 00:03:35
13.   One day Narcissus was walking in the woods... 00:05:01
  Castor and Pollux - the Dioscuri
14.   Castor and Pollux - the Dioscuri 00:03:39
15.   One day Idas and Lynceus invited their cousins... 00:03:22
16.   Idas, to celebrate his good fortune... 00:03:31
17.   So they followed Idas and Lynceus... 00:04:18
  Athena and Arachne
18.   Athena and Arachne 00:03:30
19.   However, confident of her abilities... 00:03:59

Total Playing Time: 02:35:57

Ferrie, Edward

Soames, Benjamin

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Junior Classic Fiction

Catalogue No: NA241212

Barcode: 9789626344125

Physical Release: 07/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group