Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > SHAKESPEARE, W.: Merchant of Venice (The) (Unabridged)

SHAKESPEARE, W.: Merchant of Venice (The) (Unabridged)


About this Recording

SHAKESPEARE, W.: Merchant of Venice (The) (Unabridged)

Shylock, a Jewish moneylender, agrees to lend Antonio, a Venetian merchant, three thousand ducats so that his friend Bassanio can afford to court his love, Portia. However, Shylock has one condition: should the loan go unpaid, he will be entitled to a pound of Antonio’s own flesh. Meanwhile in Belmont, according to the terms of her father’s will, Portia’s many suitors must choose correctly from three caskets. Bassanio arrives at Portia’s estate and they declare their love for one another before he picks the correct casket. Antonio falls into bad fortune and finds he cannot repay Shylock: a dramatic trial ensues to decide his fate.

Disc 1

  The Merchant of Venice
1.   Act I Scene 1: In sooth, I know not why I am so sad: 00:09:55
2.   Act I Scene 2: By my troth, Nerissa, my little body is aweary… 00:07:20
3.   Act I Scene 3: Three thousand ducats; well. 00:06:08
4.   Signior Antonio, many a time and oft… 00:04:06
5.   Act II Scene 1: Mislike me not for my complexion… 00:02:26
6.   Act II Scene 2: Certainly my conscience… 00:04:21
7.   Nay, indeed, if you had your eyes, you might fail of… 00:04:19
8.   Father, in. I cannot get a service, no; 00:02:49
9.   Act II Scene 3: Launcelot I am sorry thou wilt leave my father so: 00:01:15
10.   Act II Scene 4: Nay, we will slink away in supper - time, 00:01:50
11.   Act II Scene 5: Well Launcelot, thou shalt see, 00:03:16
12.   Act II Scene 6: This is the pent - house under which Lorenzo… 00:01:32
13.   Here, catch this casket; it is worth the pains. 00:01:49
14.   Act II Scene 7: Go draw aside the curtains and discover… 00:05:04
15.   O hell! what have we here 00:01:23
16.   Act II Scene 8: Why, man, I saw Bassanio under sail: 00:02:27
17.   Act II Scene 9: Quick, quick, I pray thee; draw the curtain straight: 00:06:48
18.   Act III Scene 1: Now, what news on the Rialto Salerino 00:02:13
19.   To bait fish withal: 00:05:17

Disc 2

  The Merchant of Venice
1.   Act III Scene 2: I pray you, tarry: pause a day or two… 00:04:39
2.   Tell me where is fancy bred… 00:06:51
3.   You see me, Lord Bassanio, where I stand… 00:09:56
4.   Act III Scene 3: Gaoler, look to him: tell not of Mercy… 00:02:05
5.   Act III Scene 4: Portia, although I speak it in your presence… 00:03:56
6.   Act III Scene 5: Yes, truly; for, look you the sins of the father… 00:04:28
7.   Act IV Scene 1: What, is Antonio here 00:04:42
8.   What judgment shall I dread, doing. 00:04:58
9.   The quality of mercy is not strain'd. 00:06:44
10.   We trifle time: I pray thee, pursue sentence… 00:04:34
11.   What mercy can you render him, Antonio 00:04:36
12.   Act IV Scene 2: Inquire the Jew's house out, Nerissa… 00:01:02
13.   Act V Scene 1: The moon shines bright: in such a night as this, 00:06:09
14.   That is the voice, or I am much deceived, of Portia… 00:05:30
15.   Let not that doctor e'er come near my house… 00:04:59

Total Playing Time: 02:29:27

Shakespeare, William

Burns, Hugh; Timson, David

Allam, Roger; Carey, Gerard; Castelow, Faye; Dastor, Sam; Fagan, Giles; Fearon, Ray; Fielding, Emma; Hodgkinson, John; Marsh, Dominic; Meyjes, Ben; Portal, Robert; Sara, Cathy; Sher, Antony; Straker, Mark

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Plays - Shakespeare

Period: Renaissance

Catalogue No: NA288612

Barcode: 9789626348864

Physical Release: 10/2008

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group