Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > CHAUCER, G.: Canterbury Tales, Vol. 2 (Modern English Verse Translation) (Unabridged)

CHAUCER, G.: Canterbury Tales, Vol.  2 (Modern English Verse Translation) (Unabridged)


About this Recording

CHAUCER, G.: Canterbury Tales, Vol. 2 (Modern English Verse Translation) (Unabridged)

Four more delightful tales from one of the most entertaining storytellers of all time. Though writing in the thirteenth century, Chaucer’s wit and observation comes down undiminished through the ages, especially in this accessible modern verse translation. The stories vary considerably from the uproarious Wife of Bath’s Tale, promoting the power of women to the sober account of patient Griselda in the Clerk’s Tale.

Disc 1

  The Wife of Bath's Tale
1.   Prologue to The Wife of Bath's Tale 00:07:29
2.   And tell me also, why there was creation 00:04:28
3.   Now sires, I shall proceed to tell my tale 00:07:32
4.   We love no man that spies or gives us charge 00:07:32
5.   Such words I had always, and brought them forth 00:05:05
6.   And so it happened on a day in Lent 00:06:40
7.   Now I will tell you truly, by St Thomas 00:06:38
8.   Who would believe, who could indeed suppose 00:02:42
9.   Behold the words between the Summoner and the Friar 00:02:05
10.   Here begins the Tale of the Wife of Bath 00:07:15
11.   This Knight, of whom in chief I tell this tale 00:05:17
12.   Now, some men, it may be, will take offense 00:11:34

Disc 2

  The Clerk's Tale
1.   The Clerk's Tale 00:03:43
2.   Here begins the Tale of the Clerk from Oxford 00:07:58
3.   Not far from that same stately palace bright 00:05:02
4.   The thoughtful Marquis spoke then to this maid 00:08:09
5.   It happened, as it would again, indeed This ugly sergeant, in the same rude way 00:09:09
6.   So in this way went by four years or more 00:09:56
7.   But meanwhile, after all his wickedness 00:08:47
8.   This great earl from Bologna now is there 00:05:27
9.   And when he saw her stand so patiently 00:07:24
10.   Chaucer's Envoy: Grisilda and her patience both are dead 00:03:11

Disc 3

  The Reeve's Tale
1.   The Prologue to the Reeve's Tale 00:04:25
2.   Here the Reeve's Tale begins 00:04:37
3.   Among the Cambridge students there were two 00:02:20
4.   The Miller smiled at their simplicity 00:03:12
5.   Like cattle in the rain, wet through and through 00:05:50
6.   Soon after this the wife left of her snoring 00:03:00
7.   Yea, hast thou, lecherous rogue 00:03:23
  The Nun's Priest's Tale
8.   The Prologue to the Nun's Priest's Tale 00:03:55
9.   Here begins the Nun's Priest's Tale. So Once it fell, as day began to break 00:08:13
10.   'Madam', quoth he, 'grand merci for your lore' 00:05:16
11.   But unto one befell a marvellous thing 00:05:58
12.   Now, when the month in which the world began 00:03:39
13.   Women's advice is oftentimes ill - fated! 00:07:02
14.   This simple widow and her daughters two 00:04:21
15.   Epilogue to the Nun's Priest's Tale 00:01:35

Total Playing Time: 03:29:49

Chaucer, Geoffrey

Jeater, Frances; Madoc, Philip; Moffatt, John; Rowe, John; Simpson, Charles

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Great Epics and Tales

Catalogue No: NA325612

Barcode: 9789626342565

Physical Release: 03/2002

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group