Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > SPENSER, E. : Faerie Queene (The) (Abridged)

SPENSER, E. : Faerie Queene (The) (Abridged)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

SPENSER, E. : Faerie Queene (The) (Abridged)

This remarkable poem, dedicated to Queen Elizabeth I, was Spenser’s finest achievement: the first epic poem in modern English, The Faerie Queene combines dramatic narratives of chivalrous adventure with exquisite and picturesque episodes of pageantry. At the same time, Spenser is expounding a deeply-felt allegory of the eternal struggle between Truth and Error…

Disc 1

  The Faerie Queene (selections)
1.   The Faerie Queene - Dedication 00:04:04
2.   The First Book: Canto I Verse I - The Red Cross Knight 00:08:02
3.   Verse XIV – ‘But full of fire and greedy hardiment’ 00:07:26
4.   Verse XXVIII – ‘Then mounted he upon his Steede againe’ 00:10:47
5.   Verse XLVII – ‘Thus, well instructed, to their worke they haste;’ 00:05:15
6.   Canto II Verse I - The Lady Fidessa 00:06:38
7.   Verse XII – ‘But he, the knight whose semblaunt he did beare’ 00:04:15
8.   Verse XX – ‘The Lady, when she saw her champion fall’ 00:05:33
9.   Verse XXX – ‘Faire seemely pleasaunce each to other makes’ 00:09:16
10.   Canto III Verse I – The Abduction of Una 00:05:47
11.   Verse X – ‘Long she thus traveiled through deserts wyde’ 00:08:24
12.   Verse XXVI – ‘Ere long he came where Una traveiled slow’ 00:04:06

Disc 2

  The Faerie Queene (selections)
1.   Verse XXXIII - ‘They had not ridden far, when they might see…’ 00:06:37
2.   Canto IX Verse XXXIII – The Cave of Despair 00:05:41
3.   Verse XLII ‘Is not his deed, whetever thing is donne’ 00:07:27
4.   Canto XI Verse I – The fight with the dragon and its sequel 00:07:58
5.   Verse XV - ‘So dreadfully he towards him did pass’ 00:09:22
6.   Verse XXXIII - ‘The morrow next gan earely to appear’ 00:09:02
7.   Verse L – ‘When gentle Una saw the second call’ 00:03:27
8.   Canto XII Verse II – ‘Scarsely had Phoebus in the glooming East’ 00:06:10
9.   Verse XXI – ‘Then forth he called that his daughter fayre’ 00:04:05
10.   The Second Book: Canto VII Verse XXI – The Cave of Mammon 00:05:54
11.   Verse XXXI – ‘They forward passe; ne Guyon yet spoke word’ 00:01:32
12.   Canto IX Verse XLVII – The Powers of the Mind 00:06:16
13.   Canto XII Verse LXIX – The Bower of Bliss 00:06:09

Disc 3

  The Faerie Queene (selections)
1.   Verse LXXIX – The young man, sleeping by her, seemed to be’ 00:05:05
2.   The Third Book Canto VII Verse XXX – ‘The Garden of Adonis’ 00:05:16
3.   Verse XXXIX – ‘Great enimy to it, and to all the rest’ 00:05:23
4.   Canto XII Verse I – The Masque of Cupid 00:05:05
5.   Verse X – ‘Next after him went Doubt, who was yclad’ 00:04:59
6.   Verse XIX – ‘After all these there marcht a most faire Dame’ 00:04:45
7.   The Fourth Book: Canto VI Verse I - Scudamour, Arthegall and Britomart 00:06:17
8.   Verse XI – ‘But Arthegall, beholding his mischaunce’ 00:06:58
9.   Verse XXIV – ‘Which when Scudamour, who now abrayd’ 00:10:08
10.   The Fifth Book Canto II Verse XXX – Arthegall and the Giant 00:07:49
11.   Verse XLIV – ‘Therewith the Giant much abashed sayd’ 00:05:49
12.   The Seventh Book: Canto VII – The Masque of the Seasons and Months 00:09:30
13.   Canto VIII – Nature’s reply to Mutability 00:02:21

Total Playing Time: 03:58:38

Moffatt, John

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Great Epics and Tales

Catalogue No: NA337712

Barcode: 9789626343777

Distribution Note(s):


Physical Release: 05/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group