Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

 
Keyword Search
 
Classical Music Home > DOYLE, A.C.: Poison Belt (Unabridged)

DOYLE, A.C.: Poison Belt (Unabridged)

    
      

 

Back Cover Image 
Reviews
About this Recording

DOYLE, A.C.: Poison Belt (Unabridged)

The world is on the brink of disaster: a cloud of poison is soon to envelop the planet, killing all mankind with it. There seems to be no way anyone can escape. But Professor Challenger is not one to let an approaching apocalypse stifle him. Calling together his three friends from their earlier adventure in The Lost World, he sets about ensuring that they can survive. But will it be enough?

In the tradition of H.G. Wells, The Poison Belt is a significant book in British science fiction history. It is also a fast-paced adventure story that is disarmingly touching.



Disc 1

  The Poison Belt (Unabridged)
1.   Play with flash player Chapter 1: The Blurring of Lines 00:07:12
2.   Play with flash player 'We will suppose,' I read… 00:08:02
3.   Play with flash player I was coming out from the news editor's room… 00:04:59
4.   Play with flash player But our good humour was restored… 00:07:28
5.   Play with flash player 'That may be…' 00:06:53
6.   Play with flash player He gave me the amused handshake… 00:06:39
7.   Play with flash player Chapter 2: The Tide of Death 00:08:03
8.   Play with flash player The explanation only brought uproarious… 00:07:30
9.   Play with flash player 'Later, when I descended to order the car…' 00:05:49
10.   Play with flash player Summerlee had risen… 00:08:36


Disc 2

  The Poison Belt (Unabridged)
1.   Play with flash player Lord John Roxton wiped his brow. 00:07:26
2.   Play with flash player 'Talkin' of death,' said Lord John… 00:04:48
3.   Play with flash player Chapter 3: Submerged 00:08:54
4.   Play with flash player At that instant, just as I took a step… 00:06:53
5.   Play with flash player Challenger smiled and shook his head… 00:07:18
6.   Play with flash player 'There is a house on fire…' 00:06:39
7.   Play with flash player 'It strikes me nature's on top this time… 00:06:32
8.   Play with flash player 'As to the body,' remarked Challenger… 00:04:41
9.   Play with flash player Chapter 4: A Diary of the Dying 00:06:32
10.   Play with flash player 'Well, even now I don't feel inclined…' 00:06:23
11.   Play with flash player We fall into silence again. 00:05:37


Disc 3

  The Poison Belt (Unabridged)
1.   Play with flash player I look out at the sunrise… 00:05:07
2.   Play with flash player 'I cannot truthfully describe…' 00:05:57
3.   Play with flash player Chapter 5: The Dead World 00:08:02
4.   Play with flash player Summerlee craned his neck… 00:08:36
5.   Play with flash player It was this grim hush… 00:07:01
6.   Play with flash player It was here that we received… 00:06:49
7.   Play with flash player A dozen motorbuses… 00:06:26
8.   Play with flash player Chapter 6: The Great Awakening 00:08:35
9.   Play with flash player I rushed downstairs… 00:08:57
10.   Play with flash player Well, I seem to recollect… 00:06:58

Total Playing Time: 03:35:22






Author(s):
Doyle, Arthur Conan

Reader(s):
McCready, Glen

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: NA393312

Barcode: 9789626349335

Release Date: 07/2009

For U.S. only:
Buy from Amazon.com
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from Amazon.ca
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from NaxosDirect.co.uk
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from www.jpc.de
For Germany:
Buy from NaxosDirekt.de
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from arkivmusic.com
For Spain Only:
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct

 

Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group