Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > DOYLE, A.C.: Sign of Four (The) (Unabridged)

DOYLE, A.C.: Sign of Four (The) (Unabridged)


About this Recording

DOYLE, A.C.: Sign of Four (The) (Unabridged)

The Sign of Four is the second story by Conan Doyle about the exploits of Sherlock Holmes. From the moment Mary Morstan tells Holmes about the mysterious disappearance of her father and the yearly gift of a pearl from an unknown benefactor, Holmes and his companion Watson are involved in an exotic tale of stolen treasure, secret oaths and murder, culminating in a breath-taking chase down the Thames. Holmes is on top form, and Watson falls in love. David Timson won the ‘Audiobook of the Year Award’ for his reading of this, the first Sherlock Holmes novel.

Disc 1

  The Sign of Four
1.   The Science of Deduction 00:06:57
2.   'My practice has extended recently to the Continent' 00:05:53
3.   'I handed him over the watch' 00:06:35
4.   The Statement of the Case 00:09:42
5.   'Standing at the window, I watched her walking briskly down the street' 00:03:15
6.   In Quest of a Solution 00:05:49
7.   'It was a September evening' 00:05:52
8.   The Story of the Bald Headed Man 00:08:27
9.   'My father was, as you may have guessed' 00:09:02
10.   'The little man stopped to relight his hookah' 00:07:38

Disc 2

  The Sign of Four
1.   The Tragedy of Pondicherry Lodge 00:08:01
2.   'At that moment the door of the house burst open' 00:04:39
3.   'It appeared to have been fitted up as a chemical laboratory' 00:04:14
4.   Sherlock Holmes Gives a Demonstration 00:05:47
5.   'The chamber in which we found ourselves' 00:05:26
6.   'As he spoke, the steps which had been coming nearer sounded loudly on the passage' 00:09:02
7.   The Episode of the Barrel 00:07:10
8.   'Toby proved to be an ugly, long - haired, lop - eared creature' 00:05:51
9.   'The east had been gradually whitening' 00:09:58
10.   'We had during this time been following the guidance of Toby' 00:03:09
11.   The Baker Street Irregulars 00:02:58
12.   'He was approaching the door of the house' 00:06:44

Disc 3

  The Sign of Four
1.   'It was between eight and nine o'clock now' 00:05:58
2.   'He handed them a shilling each' 00:05:21
3.   A Break in the Chain 00:07:02
4.   'We did not, however.' 00:03:47
5.   'it was a long day.' 00:04:43
6.   'A heavy step was heard ascending the stair' 00:03:09
7.   'We both started in our chairs' 00:03:42
8.   The End of the Islander 00:09:04
9.   'While this conversation had been proceeding' 00:04:05
10.   'At that moment, however, as our evil fate would have it' 00:07:02
11.   The Great Agra Treasure 00:07:40
12.   'They landed me at Vauxhall' 00:07:30

Disc 4

  The Sign of Four
1.   The Strange Story of Jonathan Small 00:06:34
2.   'I am a Worcestershire man myself, born near Pershore.' 00:07:04
3.   'The City of Agra is a great place' 00:03:48
4.   'The third night of my watch was dark and dirty' 00:07:29
5.   'In Worcestershire the life of a man seems a great and a sacred thing' 00:06:56
6.   'He stopped and held out his manacled hands' 00:07:05
7.   'It was rather a queer position we found ourselves in then.' 00:06:45
8.   'Two nights later he and his friend, Captain Morstan, came' 00:04:42
9.   'Well, gentlemen, I weary you with my long story' 00:04:42
10.   'Well, if I were to tell you all the adventures' 00:05:07
11.   'A very remarkable account,' said Sherlock Holmes' 00:04:57

Total Playing Time: 04:36:21

Doyle, Arthur Conan

Timson, David

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Classic Fiction

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: NA429612

Barcode: 9789626342961

Boxset: NAX97812

Physical Release: 09/2003

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For Canada only:
Buy from
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group