Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > MARSHALL: Our Island Story, Vol. 3 (Unabridged)

MARSHALL: Our Island Story, Vol. 3 (Unabridged)


Back Cover Image 
About this Recording

MARSHALL: Our Island Story, Vol. 3 (Unabridged)

Our Island Story by H.E. Marshall is an Edwardian history book for younger listeners (aged six–twelve) which tells the story of England, concluding with the reign of Queen Victoria. Antonia Fraser and many other current historians declare that it was this book that opened the delights of history for them. It fell from fashion in the 1960s, but its recent re-release in hardback has seen it become a publishing surprise in the UK, with sales of some 75,000 copies in a few months. Now, Naxos AudioBooks releases it unabridged in three volumes released in March 2006, April 2006 and May 2006, divided into three clear periods of history. Though slightly edited to take account of historical changes and attitudes, it is presented unabridged.

Disc 1

  Our Island Story, Chapters LXXIV - CX: From James I and Guy Fawkes to Queen Victoria
1.   Chapter LXXIV: The Story of Guy Fawkes 00:09:17
2.   Chapter LXXV: The Story of the Mayflower 00:08:30
3.   Chapter LXXVI: How a Woman Struck a Blow for Freedom 00:07:30
4.   Chapter LXXVII: How the King and the Parliament Quarrelled 00:08:52
5.   Chapter LXXVIII: The Story of How the King was Brought to His Death 00:06:09
6.   Chapter LXXIX: The Commonwealth – The Adventures of a Prince 00:09:03
7.   Chapter LXXX: The Commonwealth – The Lord Protector 00:06:53
8.   Chapter LXXXI: How Death Walked in the Streets of London 00:09:16
9.   Chapter LXXXII: Charles II – The Story of How London was Burned 00:07:49

Disc 2

  Our Island Story, Chapters LXXIV - CX: From James I and Guy Fawkes to Queen Victoria
1.   Chapter LXXXIII: The Fiery Cross 00:06:09
2.   Chapter LXXXIV: The Story of King Monmouth 00:03:16
3.   Chapter LXXXV: The Story of the Seven Bishops 00:07:34
4.   Chapter LXXXVI: William the Deliverer 00:05:40
5.   Chapter LXXXVII: William III and Mary II – Brave Londonderry 00:04:52
6.   Chapter LXXXVIII: The Story of a Sad Day in a Highland Glen 00:07:41
7.   Chapter LXXXIX: Anne – How the Union Jack was Made 00:07:03
8.   Chapter XC: The Story of the Earl of Mar's Hunting Party 00:07:49
9.   Chapter XCI: George II – The Story of Bonnie Prince Charlie 00:08:32
10.   Chapter XCII: George II – The Story of Flora MacDonald 00:08:20
11.   Chapter XCIII: The Story of the Black Hole of Calcutta 00:04:12

Disc 3

  Our Island Story, Chapters LXXIV - CX: From James I and Guy Fawkes to Queen Victoria
1.   Chapter XCIV: George II – The Story of How Canada Was Won 00:09:24
2.   Chapter XCV: George III – The Story of How America Was Lost 00:10:03
3.   Chapter XCVI: George III – A Story of a Spinning Wheel 00:08:31
4.   Chapter XCVII: England Expects That Every Man Will Do His Duty 00:09:51
5.   Chapter XCVIII: George III – The Battle of Waterloo 00:06:13
6.   Chapter XCIX: George IV – The First Gentleman in Europe 00:04:40
7.   Chapter C: William IV – Two Peaceful Victories 00:08:22
8.   Chapter CI: Victoria – The Girl Queen 00:04:36
9.   Chapter CII: Victoria – When Bread Was Dear 00:06:05

Disc 4

  Our Island Story, Chapters LXXIV - CX: From James I and Guy Fawkes to Queen Victoria
1.   Chapter CIII: Victoria – Peace 00:05:35
2.   Chapter CIV: Victoria – War 00:13:56
3.   Chapter CV: Victoria – The Land of Snow 00:06:52
4.   Chapter CVI: Victoria – The Siege of Delhi 00:09:24
5.   Chapter CVII: Victoria – The Pipes at Lucknow 00:08:49
6.   Chapter CVIII: Victoria – Under the Southern Cross 00:07:40
7.   Chapter CIX: Victoria – From Cannibal to Christian 00:06:46
8.   Chapter CX: Victoria – Boer and Briton 00:09:24

Total Playing Time: 04:40:38

Marshall, Henrietta Elizabeth

Bentinck, Anna; Philpott, Daniel

Label: Naxos AudioBooks

Genre: Junior History

Period: 20th Century

Catalogue No: NA441112

Barcode: 9789626344118

Physical Release: 05/2006

For U.S. only:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Canada only:
Buy from
For U.S.:
Barnes & Nobles
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For Worldwide:
Buy from Presto Classical
For Germany and Europe:
Buy from
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group