Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
Classical Music Home > WAGNER, R.: Rheingold (Das) [Opera] (Goerne, DeYoung, Begley, Sidhom, Cangelosi, Hong Kong Philharmonic, van Zweden) (Blu-ray Audio)

WAGNER, R.: Rheingold (Das) [Opera] (Goerne, DeYoung, Begley, Sidhom, Cangelosi, Hong Kong Philharmonic, van Zweden) (Blu-ray Audio)



Back Cover Image 
About this Recording
Die Zeit interviews Matthias Goerne
Conductor Jaap van Zweden interview with Naxos Founder & Chairman Klaus Heymann
Jaap van Zweden - King of The Ring

WAGNER, R.: Rheingold (Das) [Opera] (Goerne, DeYoung, Begley, Sidhom, Cangelosi, Hong Kong Philharmonic, van Zweden) (Blu-ray Audio)

First performed as a cycle of four operas in 1876, Wagner’s visionary Der Ring des Nibelungen (The Ring of the Nibelung) is one of the greatest works of art. Centred around a ring which offers its bearer ultimate power and the attempts of various people to acquire it, the Ring cycle explores the relationship between love and earthly power and the themes of yearning and loss, all within a setting of medieval legend. The Prologue Das Rheingold depicts the theft and subsequent surrender of the ring forged from the Rhinemaidens’ gold by the Nibelung dwarf Alberich.

Wagner, Richard
Wagner, Richard, lyricist(s)

  Das Rheingold
1.   Scene 1: Vorspiel 00:05:03
2.   Scene 1: Weia! Waga! Woge, du Welle! (Rhinemaidens) 00:01:24
3.   Scene 1: Hehe! Ihr Nicker! (Alberich, Rhinemaidens) 00:01:29
4.   Scene 1: Garstig glatter glitschiger Glimmer! (Alberich, Rhinemaidens) 00:08:24
5.   Scene 1: Lugt, Schwestern! Die Weckerin lacht in den Grund (Rhinemaidens, Alberich) 00:04:26
6.   Scene 1: Nur wer der Minne Macht entsagt (Woglinde, her sisters, Alberich) 00:01:51
7.   Scene 1: Der Welt Erbe gewann' ich zu eigen durch dich (Alberich, Rhinemaidens) 00:01:47
8.   Scene 1: Haltet den Rauber! (Flosshilde, her sisters) 00:03:21
9.   Scene 2: Einleitung 00:01:05
10.   Scene 2: Wotan! Gemahl! Erwache! (Fricka, Wotan) 00:07:05
11.   Scene 2: So schirme sie jetzt (Fricka, Freia, Wotan) 00:02:01
12.   Scene 2: Sanft schloss Schlaf dein Aug'! (Fasolt, Wotan) 00:02:28
13.   Scene 2: Was sagst du Ha! Sinnst du Verrath (Fasolt, Fafner, Wotan) 00:05:10
14.   Scene 2: Du da, folge uns fort! (Fafner, Freia, Froh, Donner, Fasolt, Wotan, Fricka) 00:01:44
15.   Scene 2: Endlich Loge! Eiltest du so (Wotan, Loge, Fricka, Froh, Donner, Fafner, Fasolt) 00:03:50
16.   Scene 2: Immer ist Undank Loges Lohn! (Loge, Wotan, Fasolt, Fafner, Fricka) 00:07:40
17.   Scene 2: Ein Runenzauber zwingt das Gold zum Reif (Loge, Donner, Wotan, Froh, Fricka, Fafner) 00:03:28
18.   Scene 2: Hor', Wotan, der Harrenden Wort! (Fafner, Wotan, Fasolt, Freia) 00:02:04
19.   Scene 2: Schwester! Bruder! Rettet! (Freia, Froh, Donner, Loge, Fricka) 00:05:14
20.   Scene 2: Wotan, Gemahl, unsel'ger Mann (Fricka, Wotan, Loge, Donner, Froh) 00:01:49
21.   Scene 3: Verwandlungsmusik 00:02:36
22.   Scene 3: Hehe! Hehe! Hieher! Hieher! Tuckischer Zwerg! (Alberich, Mime) 00:00:46
23.   Scene 3: Schau, du Schelm! (Alberich, Mime) 00:02:14
24.   Scene 3: Nibelheim hier: durch bleiche Nebel (Loge, Mime, Wotan) 00:06:06
25.   Scene 3: Nehmt euch in acht! Alberich naht (Mime, Wotan, Alberich) 00:05:33
26.   Scene 3: Die in linder Lufte Weh'n da oben ihr lebt (Alberich, Wotan, Loge) 00:06:52
27.   Scene 3: Ohe! Ohe! Schreckliche Schlange (Loge, Wotan, Alberich) 00:02:23
28.   Scene 3: Dort, die Krote, greife sie rasch! (Loge, Alberich) 00:04:02
29.   Scene 4: Da, Vetter, sitze du fest! (Loge, Alberich, Wotan) 00:02:29
30.   Scene 4: Wohlan, die Nibelungen rief ich mir nah' (Alberich, Wotan) 00:02:27
31.   Scene 4: Gezahlt hab' ich; nun lass' mich zieh'n! (Alberich, Loge, Wotan) 00:05:26
32.   Scene 4: Ist er gelost (Loge, Wotan, Alberich) 00:04:44
33.   Scene 4: Lauschtest du seinem Liebesgruss (Loge, Wotan, Froh, Donner, Fricka) 00:02:47
34.   Scene 4: Lieblichste Schwester, susseste Lust! (Fricka, Fasolt, Wotan) 00:02:58
35.   Scene 4: Gepflanzt sind die Pfahle nach Pfandes Mass (Fafner, Wotan, Loge, Froh, Fricka, Donner, Fasolt, Freia) 00:06:18
36.   Scene 4: Weiche, Wotan, weiche! Flieh' des Ringes Fluch! (Erda, Wotan) 00:05:32
37.   Scene 4: Soll ich sorgen und furchten (Wotan, Fricka, Froh, Donner, Freia) 00:02:25
38.   Scene 4: Halt, du Gieriger! Gonne mir auch was! (Fasolt, Fafner, Loge) 00:01:13
39.   Scene 4: Nun blinzle nach Freias Blick! (Fafner, Wotan, Loge, Fricka, Donner) 00:04:04
40.   Scene 4: Heda! Heda! Hedo! Zu mir, du Geduft! (Donner) 00:02:06
41.   Scene 4: Bruder, hieher! Weise der Brucke den Weg! (Donner, Froh) 00:02:03
42.   Scene 4: Abendlich strahlt der Sonne Auge (Wotan) 00:01:45
43.   Scene 4: So gruss' ich die Burg (Wotan, Fricka, Loge) 00:02:04
44.   Scene 4: Rheingold! Rheingold! Reines Gold! (Rhinemaidens, Wotan, Loge) 00:03:19

Wagner, Richard

Wagner, Richard

Zweden, Jaap van

Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra

Begley, Kim; Cangelosi, David; DeYoung, Michelle; Goerne, Matthias; Haselböck, Hermine; Humble, Deborah; Milling, Stephen; Nakamura, Eri; Pushniak, Oleksandr; Reid, Charles; Samuil, Anna; Sidhom, Peter; Varak, Aurhelia; Youn, Kwangchul

Label: Naxos

Genre: Opera

Period: Romantic

Catalogue No: NBD0049

Barcode: 730099004961

Distribution Note(s):

Listening samples in stereo only.

Release Date: 11/2015

For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from H & B Direct
For U.K. Only:
Buy from
For U.S. and Canada:
Buy from
For Germany:
Buy from
For U.S. only:
Naxos Direct
For Spain Only:


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group