Torroba's Guitar Concertos

Listen to an extract from Concierto en Flamenco played by Pepe Romero: IV. Bulerias
Listen to podcast

Federico Moreno TORROBA (1891–1982)
Guitar Concertos, Vol. 1

Concierto en Flamenco
Pepe Romero and Vicente Coves, Guitars
Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra • Manuel Coves


An outstanding figure in the history of modern Spanish music, Federico Moreno Torroba is best known for his guitar works, his traditional style embracing the folklore and character of Spain. The Concierto en Flamenco requires an exceptional soloist, and Pepe Romero is justly famous for his masterful interpretations in both classical and flamenco genres. The playful Diálogos entre guitarra y orquesta adds the luminous sonorities of harp and celesta to its colourful orchestration. Aires de la Mancha is evocative of this distinctive region in central Spain, while the Suite castellana includes Torroba’s first ever composition for guitar, Danza.

‘the performance is vibrant and passionate’


Torroba's Guitar Concertos

The Artists

Pepe Romero    •    Vicente Coves    •    Manuel Coves    •    Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra
About Pepe Romero

The guitarist Pepe Romero has been honoured by kings, heads of state, and major institutions, but his most important contribution has been to communicate the richness and beauty of the classical guitar to millions of people throughout the world. He has, indeed, become an ambassador of classical music, and, correspondingly, of the classical guitar. He is the second son of the great guitarist Celedonio Romero, and brother of the two guitarists Celin and Angel Romero. Born in M.laga in 1944, by the age of seven, he had appeared on the concert stage for the first time, at the Teatro Lope de Vega in Sevilla. More than fifty years later, he continues to mesmerise audiences throughout the world. During that time, he has given literally thousands of concerts worldwide, many with the remarkable Romero Quartet, and many as a solo instrumentalist. He has worked with almost every major conductor, and has to his credit more than sixty recordings, among which are twenty concerto recordings with the Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields, with both Neville Marriner and Iona Brown.

About Vicente Coves

Born in Jaén in 1982, the guitarist Vicente Coves lived in Linares until 1997, when he moved to Granada. He began his musical studies with his brother, the conductor Manuel Coves, and since 1997 has been a disciple of the legendary Pepe Romero. His career has brought international acclaim, with appearances in many countries since the age of eleven, as a soloist in the Orquesta Filarmónica de Buenos Aires, the Orquesta Sinfónica de RTVE (Spanish Radio & Television Symphony Orchestra), the Youth Symphony Orchestra of Russia, the Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestra della Toscana, the Cologne Chamber Orchestra, the Orquesta de la Comunidad de Madrid, the Orquesta Ciudad de Granada, the Orquesta de Córdoba, the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Ecuador, the Orquesta Nacional de España,
the Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia and the Qatar Philharmonic,
among others.

About Manuel Coves

Born in Jaén, Manuel Coves studied piano, chamber music and orchestral conducting. He conducts in leading theatres across the world, such as the Teatro Arriaga (Bilbao), Teatros del Canal (Madrid), Teatro Argentino de la Plata (Buenos Aires), Gran Teatro del Liceu (Barcelona), Teatro de la Zarzuela (Madrid), and the Teatro Mayor Julio Mario Santo Domingo (Bogotá), and with orchestras such as the Orquesta de la Comunidad de Madrid, the Bilbao Orkestra Sinfonikoa, the Orquestra Simfònica del Gran Teatre del Liceu, the Orquestra Simfònica de les Illes Balears, the M.laga Philharmonic Orchestra,
the Extremadura Orchestra, the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Colombia, the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Ecuador, and the Brazilian Symphony Orchestra. His most recent conducting engagements have included Verdi’s Otello (Mallorca), Puccini’s La bohème (Madrid), Albéniz’s Pepita Jiménez (La Plata), Viva Madrid and El Caserío (Madrid), and Torroba’s Luisa Fernanda (Bogotá). Since 2009 he has also held the post of artistic and musical director at the Carlos III University of Madrid.

About the Málaga
Philharmonic Orchestra

The Málaga Philharmonic Orchestra gave its inaugural concert on the 14th February 1991. Throughout all these years it has maintained the commitment to offer the city quality music along with the best conductors and soloists on the national and international scene. The orchestra’s programmes comprise mainstream international classics alongside more challenging contemporary works, as well as premiere performances of new works. Its five principal conductors have been Octav Calleya, Odón Alonso, Alexander Rahbari, Aldo Ceccato and Edmon Colomer.

Recommended Releases

This month's bumper crop of new releases featuring great guitar music offers a choice of solos, duets and concertos with orchestra, performed by some of the instrument's greatest exponents - Pepe Romero, Vicente Coves, José Antonio Escobar, Dale Kavanagh and Thomas Kirchhoff. Take your pick – better still pick all three – sit back and enjoy!
Listen to an extract from Suite Colombiana
No. 3: I. La Cancion del Sonador
Listen to an extract from
Suite spagnola: II. Fandango