Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search

Researching a composer? Preparing for a concert?
Looking for new music to perform?

Naxos Works Database is your reliable source for information on classical music works. Find all the relevant information you need: instrumentation, playing time, year of composition, composer biographies, introduction texts and much more. With more than 140,000 works, and new works being added every day, it is your gateway to the world of classical music.

More than 140,000 works already online and growing by the day.

More than 10,000 work introductions

3,500+ composer biographies

13,000+ orchestral works

4,500+ choral works

2,000+ operas and operettas

2,500+ concertos

3,000+ chamber works

60+ musicals

Our catalogue is built on the vast experience from the Naxos Music Library, the musician’s choice for classical music streaming. In addition, through close cooperation with the world’s leading music publishers, we are continually adding new information about works from the 20th and 21st centuries.

Naxos Works Database fulfils a musician’s need for reliable information from a name you can trust.

  • Keyword search from anywhere on the site
  • Composer portraits shown next to the respective composers
  • Arrangements are grouped under the original work to give a clear overview of a composer’s catalogue
  • Handy tooltip with a reminder of what all the numbers mean in the orchestrations, visible on all work pages

Sign up for a free trial now and enjoy the benefits of one of the most trusted names in classical music.

Naxos Works Database features works by over 6000 composers.
This month's featured composer is George Enescu (1881–1955)
George Enescu

The greatest of Romanian musicians, George Enescu was equally remarkable as a violinist and as a composer. He contributed significantly to the development of music in his own country, although much of his activity centred on Paris, where he was a pupil of Marsick and for composition of Fauré and Massenet. His violin pupils include Grumiaux, Ferras, Gitlis and Menuhin.


Despite early success, notably the two Romanian Rhapsodies, his work found real appreciation only among a small number of musicians and admirers. Prolific in his youth, during which he pursued studies first in Vienna then in Paris, the demands of performance and administration, not to mention upheaval in his personal life and in his beloved Romania, slowed his creativity so that he was able to complete only a handful of major compositions after the First World War. Yet the sheer quality of these works, which amalgamate his understanding of the classical masters with the achievement of the French and German romanticists, while transcending stereotypical notions of radical and conservative, has seen a gradual resurgence of interest over the past three decades.

Chamber music

Chamber music was a prominent feature of Enescu’s music from his earliest years. Along with his two cello sonatas, there are four extant violin sonatas, two string quartets, two piano quartets, a piano quintet, piano trio, string octet, and wind decatet [Naxos 8.554173], as well as shorter pieces for various combinations.

Orchestral Music

Although much that he wrote may be of greater musical significance, Enescu's most popular composition is the Romanian Rhapsody No. 1.

There are 169 works by George Enescu on the Naxos Works Database.


Naxos Works Database offers three different account types to suit a variety of needs.
Review the three types below and make your selection to get full access today!

‘Naxos Works Database is a valuable reference tool for librarians, performers, conductors,
and musicologists and I look forward to watching its continued growth.’

Music Library Association

For more information, please contact Jonathan Irons (

View our special weekly features:
View all Features »


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group