Saint-Saëns was both a high romantic and a classicist, and these pieces beautifully combine the best of both of these worlds. I've been compelled by his music ever since performing his Allegro Appassionato as a teenager, which is on this volume. His final large work for piano, the Op. 161 Six Fugues, are a sublime set of virtuoso character pieces, so deeply gratifying to perform. – Geoffrey Burleson

"Burleson plays with enormous flair and style... superb!"
Fanfare on Naxos (8.559664)

"a top-notch pianist. Burleson's piquancy and poetry blended beautifully."The Washington Post


Not only was Camille Saint-Saëns a piano virtuoso, eulogised by Liszt amongst many others, but he was one of the most exciting and imaginative of composers for the instrument. He enjoyed taking baroque and classical forms and translating them into his own brand of romantic language, qualities that Geoffrey Burleson explores so adroitly in this second volume of the complete piano music.

His Six Fugues, Op. 161 are masterly and complex character studies, devoid of academic leanings, whilst his famous Allegro Appassionato, Op. 70 possessesbrilliance and lyrical depth. The Thême Varié, Op. 97 is witty and explosive, the Suite, Op. 90 full of charm, and the Allegro, Op. 29 possessed of dazzling breadth.

  1 Allegro d'après le 3e Concerto, Op. 29 (10:19)

Suite pour le Piano, Op. 90 (11:10)
2 I . Prélude et Fugue (03:08)
3 II . Menuet (03:40)
4 III . Gavotte (02:13)
5 IV. Gigue (02:09)

6 Allegro appassionato, Op. 70 (05:44)

7 Thème Varié, Op. 97 (06:56)

Six Fugues pour le Piano, Op. 161 (19:51)
8 I . A llegro moderato (04:05)
9 II . Poco allegro – grazioso (02:59)
10 III . A llegretto (02:39)
11 IV. A llegro moderato (02:51)
12 V. A ndantino quasi allegretto (02:28)
13 VI. Maestoso, poco allegro (04:49)



Geoffrey Burleson has performed to wide acclaim throughout Europe and North America, and is equally active as a recitalist, concerto soloist, chamber musician and jazz performer. His numerous solo appearances include prominent venues in Paris, New York, Rome, Athens, Mexico City, Rotterdam, Chicago, Boston, Washington, Switzerland, England, Spain, and elsewhere. His appearances as concerto soloist include the Boston Musica Viva, Arlington Philharmonic, New England Philharmonic, and the Holland Symfonia in The Netherlands. A laureate of the International Piano Recording Competition (Silver Medal), and the Vienna Modern Masters International Performers' Competition, he was also the recipient of a DAAD Grant from the German government to support a residency at the Academy of Arts in Berlin. His recordings include the complete piano music of Roy Harris for Naxos.

Visit his website

"A top-notch pianist. Burleson's piquancy and poetry blended beautifully."
The Washington Post

Grand Piano is a new premium label dedicated to the exploration of undiscovered keyboard repertoire. Pulling from a deep pool of talent around the globe, Grand Piano brings to life exciting interpretations of these gems of the piano repertoire. Grand Piano will release around 20 new titles each year, including many world premières and complete cycles.
GP601 GP602 GP603 GP604
GP606 GP615-16 GP605 GP608
For enquiries contact
℗ & © 2012 HNH International Ltd.