It is never easy to find a composer whose production is equally good throughout its entirety. Fortunately there is no lack of good music just waiting to be rediscovered. Alexander Tcherepnin was my first choice: his Russian pianism, his brilliant mind, his profound intimacy and his life story so similar to mine have touched me profoundly. My hope for the future? Somewhere, in a basket that miraculously survived the Russian revolution of St. Petersburg, there is more of his music awaiting rediscovery – Giorgio Koukl

"Koukl has the technical authority for these works. His playing gives off a sense of being at ease, with the ability to extend himself as needed."Barry Brenesal, Fanfare

Alexander Tcherepnin

This first volume of Alexander Tcherepnin's extensive list of works for piano takes us from some of his earliest works as a precocious Russian teenager, through to significant and intensely expressive compositions. From the cleverly written and spontaneously fresh works of his youth to the remarkable Sonata No. 2 from 1961, each work is a gold mine of astoundingly inventive and distinctively individual craftsmanship.

The program demonstrates Tcherepnin's mastery of the miniature and the monumental, speaking to the heart from a basis in the Romantic tradition. Tcherepnin's is a voice which stands comparison with Prokofiev and at times Rachmaninov, but the over-riding impression is of striking individuality and compelling inventiveness.

A lifelong pioneer in new composition techniques, Tcherepnin was also an enthusiastic internationalist whose fascination with folk idioms brought him through Eurasian culture to Far Eastern influences, earning him the sobriquet "Musical Citizen of the World".



10 Bagatelles, Op. 5 (1918) 11:34
1 Allegro marciale (00:54)
2 Con vivacità (01:31)
3 Vivo (00:58)
4 Lento con tristezza (01:45)
5 Dolce (01:16)
6 Allegro con spirito (01:02)
7 Prestissimo (01:10)
8 Allegro (01:03)
9 Allegretto (00:43)
10 Presto (01:12)

SONATE NO. 1, OP. 22 (1918) 14:36
11 Allegro comodo (07:08)
12 Andante (02:59)
13 Allegro (02:09)
14 Grave (02:20)


9 Inventions, Op. 13 (1921) * 10:44
15 Sans lenteur (00:49)
16 Vif et energique (00:41)
17 Modéré (00:28)
18 Avec mouvement( 00:31)
19 Lourd (00:40)
20 Vite (00:29)
21 Tranquille (00:46)
22 Lent (00:45)
23 Claire (00:35)

SONATE NO. 2, OP. 94 (1961) 11:11
24 Lento (04:23)
25 Andantino (02:38)
26 Animato (04:10)

10 Études, Op. 18 (1920) * 18:57
27 Allegretto (02:07)
28 Rubato (01:43)
29 Marziale (01:51)
30 Andantino (02:01)
31 Vivace (01:57)
32 Moderato (02:09)
33 Allegretto con moto (01:31)
34 Vivace (00:38)
35 Maestoso (02:29)
36 Lento (03:01)

* World Première Recordings



Giorgio Koukl is a pianist/ harpsichordist and composer based in Lugano, Switzerland. Born in Prague in 1953, and studied at the State Music School and Conservatory.before moving to Switzerland in 1968 and continuing his studies at the Conservatories of Zürich and Milan. While studying there he took part in master-classes of N. Magalov, J. Février, and S.Neuhaus, and with Rudolf Firkušný, friend and advocate of Czech composer Bohuslav Martinu. Through Firkušný, Koukl first encountered Martinu's music, prompting him to search out his compatriot's solo piano works. Since then he has developed these into an important part of his concert repertoire and is now considered as one of the world 's leading interpreters of Martinu's piano music, having recorded the composer's complete solo piano music, piano concertos, and a disc of Martinu's vocal music.

Giorgio Koukl's complete recordings of Martinu's piano music for Naxos have been critically acclaimed as "a delight" (Gramophone) and "estimable and important" (MusicWeb International). Tcherepnin belonged to the same Parisian group of composers as Martinu, and Koukl's effortless technique and expertise with this fascinating repertoire make him a perfect advocate for this composer's remarkable music.

"Koukl has the technical authority for these works. His playing gives off a sense of being at ease, with the ability to extend himself as needed."Barry Brenesal, Fanfare

Grand Piano is a new premium label dedicated to the exploration of undiscovered keyboard repertoire. Pulling from a deep pool of talent around the globe, Grand Piano brings to life exciting interpretations of these gems of the piano repertoire. Grand Piano will release around 20 new titles each year, including many world premières and complete cycles.
GP601 GP602 GP603 GP604
GP606 GP615-16 GP605 GP608
For enquiries contact
℗ & © 2012 HNH International Ltd.