Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News

Works by Astor Piazzolla arranged for trombone & instrumental ensemble recorded for Naxos

February 12, 2011

Between 10 April and 5 May 2010 in Woolsey Hall at Yale University, USA, trombonist Achilles Liarmakopoulos and an instrumental ensemble recorded music by Astor Piazzolla for release on Naxos 8.572596 (Digital Release: March 2011, CD Release: December 2011). The album will feature these works:

  1. Michelangelo 70*
  2. Histoire du Tango: II. Café 1930
  3. Histoire du Tango: III. Nightclub 1960
  4. Soledad
  5. Le Grand Tango
  6. Oblivion*
  7. Escualo*
  8. Serie del Angel (arr. G. Senanes)
  9. Tanti anni prima, “Ave Maria” (bonus track for digital album)

* performances based on the manuscript sources

The musicians involved were Achilles Liarmakopoulos (trombone) (All Works), Hector Del Curto (bandoneon) (Works 1, 4, 7), Octavio Brunetti (piano) (Works 1, 4, 7), Pedro Giraudo (double bass) (Works 1, 4, 7), Simon Powis (guitar) (Work 2), Ian Rosenbaum (marimba) (Work 3), Robert Thompson (piano) (Works 5, 6), Samuel Adams (double bass) (Works 6, 8), Edson Scheid (violin 1) (Work 8), Jiyun Han (violin 2) (Work 8) Raul Garcia (viola) (Work 8), Arnold Choi (cello) (Work 8) and Maura Valenti (harp) (Work 9).

Achilles Liarmakopoulos, trombonist

Pedro Giraudo, bass; Hector Del Curto, bandoneon
Octavio Brunetti, piano; Achilles Liarmakopoulos, trombone


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group