Classical Music Home

Welcome to Naxos Records

Email Password  
Not a subscriber yet?  
Keyword Search
  Classical Music Home > Music News


May 23, 2002

Copenhagen - This year the Danish national recording label Dacapo can bask in its success as the big winner in the presentation of the Danish Music Awards Classical 2002. Half of the eight prizes available went to Dacapo at the awards ceremony on 22nd May in the Tivoli Concert Hall.

The award for "Danish Classical Release of the Year" went to the Danish National Sinfonietta/DR's recording of C.E.F. Weyse's The Sleeping Draught with Giordano Bellincampi and a star cast of Danish soloists. The recording was made in collaboration with the national broadcasting corporation Danmarks Radio.

"Danish Orchestral Release of the Year" went to Thomas Dausgaard and the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra for their recording of Asger Hamerik's Symphonies 5 and 6.

"Danish Solo Release of the Year" was Thomas Trondhjem's recordings of C.E.F. Weyse's late piano sonatas, made in collaboration with the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Arhus.

And it was a great pleasure too to receive the award for "Danish Vocal Release of the Year" , which went to the latest in the series of Dacapo's releases of Buxtehude's vocal music, recorded by Ebbe Munk, the Copenhagen Boys' Choir and the English early music and Baroque ensemble Dufay Collective.


Naxos Records, a member of the Naxos Music Group